Simon Lai-(DT) Overture 1928

NoMiS

hey there!

I have just Recorded a video cover of Dream Theater's Overture 1928. Thought i try out the different cameras that would record my nice raw guitar tone. and see which one produces a rather nice tone on Video. so this is one of them. Going to record another one when my fren passes me his camera.

So to all Dream Theater Fans, Hope you guys enjoy this. I am very sorry for the Sound Quality. and also the mistakes! i am open to all constructive comments! So do tell me what i can work on from, my playing to the recording!!! thanks!

Haha! and this reminds me that i should get my tickets soon for DT's Concert that is coming soon! so for those of you who did not get your tickets! GO GRAB THEM!

Alright Enough of me blabbering on. Well Wishes to all. ROCK ON!! \m/

YouTube - Simon Lai-(DT) Overture 1928

hehe, did a minor editing to the vid. so pls help by commenting on youtube! thanks pple! sorry for the trouble!

Fulamak...! This is what i'm waiting to see from you lah bro, hehe...Covering DT is one of the 'impossible' task to accomplish but you've nailed it. With the crazy odd time signatures, you seemed to have just breeze it with ease. And i simply loved your tone, is it from your GT-8? And my favourite part of the vid is when you show the 'rock-finger' sign before and after the song, haha...

Talking about our earlier collab, actually i thought of making a project band playing DT, Racer X and similar stuff. You lead i rhythm lah but still looking for potential other members...

haha bro! you are too kind la! U can oso Play lead wat?!!!!! mus share parts!!! hahaha...
As for the tone, yupp its from the GT8, with a boost from mi audio's Blues Boy Deluxe Courtesy of Edder our fellow softy whu sold me at a good price. ED its still working like magic!! hehehe. and also my Demeter Fat Boost, which is also a low impedance buffer. but thanks for the kind compliment. i appreciate it. but theres alot of things which i think we can share. i am sure i will learn ALOT from ur exp. which i am looking forward to!

That was one of the best overture covers i have seen. Its awesome. The relaxed playing, confidence, timing and articulation is all there. Awesome stuff.

haha bro! you are too kind la! U can oso Play lead wat?!!!!! mus share parts!!! hahaha...
As for the tone, yupp its from the GT8, with a boost from mi audio's Blues Boy Deluxe Courtesy of Edder our fellow softy whu sold me at a good price. ED its still working like magic!! hehehe. and also my Demeter Fat Boost, which is also a low impedance buffer. but thanks for the kind compliment. i appreciate it. but theres alot of things which i think we can share. i am sure i will learn ALOT from ur exp. which i am looking forward to!

edo or edder? hmmmmmmmmmm............:mrgreen:

hey!!! paiseh!! its edo!!!! hehe.. thanks pple for the kind comment. nanoshred ure too kind. but i will try to record the solo for the song u asked me. its really fun!!! thanks master!!!

Dey nice one la! I think must use this video to prove pedals that i resell makes ppl play like Petrucci LOL!

I did started learning Overture 1928 sometime ago, just too lazy to remember the lead part from 2:55 onwards. Did an audio clip of it also, no cam at home hehe

Wah ... super relaxed and fluid playing man ... honestly one of the best DT overture covers ive seen... You make it look EASY bro...

well done.. simon xbred.. is that ur band name? u have any friend wanna have fun gig.. or maybe hangout for soft members.. its hard to find a musician in singapore especially old school.. nowadays teenagers like modern rock/punk rock.. zzzz!

To Mattleesc: Thanks Bro. Its very kind of u!

to 3noteabar: i'm Glad tht i did tht! hope u had a good morning!

to Edo: Your pedal has served me well!! and go learn la! and record a vid of u leh!

to chanmin: thanks bro. it means alot to me! and thank you for selling me ur RG580! cuz of ur RG it has allow me to practice the many wonderful licks and songs!haha! my first RG somemore! killer!

to Rein: Haha, my ex band was crossbred. and i liked the name. so i took it Xbred for my nick! yupp my name is simon. hehe. thanks for checking out bro. and i think there are several young musicians whu likes old school stuff. jus not many haha!!! yea man shud hang out soon man! haha. thanks for the encouragement once again!

Keep it coming!

haha! thanks taylorboy! no la. wat ownage.. i am sure there are other guitarist out there tht can do jus as well. keep rocking!

@simon: yup bcoz I know ur bassist.. his name is shaun right hehe.. well if have time maybe soft should do lil gathering.. just chillin n talk some shiet.. rock n roll over man..

to glutturalpiss: thanks bro. \m/

to rein: yupp! mr shaun hedger. one hell of a talent on bass. miss jamming with him man. haha

haha!!!! Prez?! no la bro.. pls.. wao lao.. tht is abit too hardcore! haha bro.. ur pedals. ichiban!! i meant the ones that u made. haha!!! woo! wanna try them one day!