Self-taught/Take lessons?

Are You A...

• Drummer who takes lessons

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Frozen

Are you a self-taught drummer or do you take (or used to take) lessons? Just want to know since I may quit lessons and learn by myself.

I used to take lessons at Yamaha. Quit at the beginner of the year cos can't afford the fees anymore.

Trying the self-taught route now...

So how is it? Do you learn from books, internet?

Any good recommended sites? All I know is that there're some good lessons and lots of tabs at mxtabs.

I'm learning from books, magazines and drum DVDs (I love these!). Also, I think watching people play helps a lot. Just go to as many gigs as you can and fix your eyes on the drummer!!!

Need discipline though. Cos no more teacher to like "must practise for me to see next week!" that type of thing.

Self teaching gives you freedom of expression man. I'm not that great with the drums but i managed to pick it up by practicing those coordination exercises with hands and feet. Subsequently relied on listening and learning from videos. Works, but if you have a friend to guide you you'll improve much faster.

Well, now I take lessons but I've been listening to songs and checking out the tabs. Reading the tabs look harder than playing the songs though it explains fill-in parts.

Would it work if people with the same capabilities learn together to work out how to play a song,etc?

i agree with what poo said ... self taught giving a freedom of expression ... most important thing when you self-taught yourselves is to try to find most effective way to improve yourself ... i improved my drum by jamming with my recordings, songs and even drum instructional ...