pickups...

One

guys...i am not an expert in pickups..i wanna get new pickups for my rg270...but how do i differentiate between neck n bridge humbuckers...how to know which is for which....they normally juz say humbuckers in general. thankz.
another thing..i want to change my pickups but i do not know wat to get...i'm into hard rock, heavy metal, classic rock genres...and also very much into blues..

usually the Seymour Duncan and DiMarzio have recommendations for their pickups... SD marks their pickups with neck/mid/bridge, and DiMarzio recommends installing on which positions on their websites.

www.dimarzio.com

Check it out man. DiMarzio has lots of pro artistes who play ur kind of style. Mayb for the bridge you can get a heavy thumping hum for those heavy metal chunks, for the mid some nice bluesy single coil for those classical/blues stuff, and for the neck just another cool n powerful shred buster for any hard rock/metal lick. Basically they have recommendations for which position the pickup is suited to. I normally use my bridge for rhythm & neck for sweeps & fast fury, sometimes alternating. Therez a different feel to a piercing solo when u switch between bridge & neck. And u can try asking ShredCow for further advice, he really helped me alot on pickups.

Usually pickups meant for bridge positions have a higher output level as compared to a neck pickup.

This is to accomodate for varying strings movements in the bridge and neck. The vibrations of the strings at the lower end tend to be less so the higher output on the bridge pickup compensates for that. The product itself will specify whether its for the bridge or neck position.

Yeap, but this doesent nesessarily mean you must abide by the Neck-Bridge theory :) . There can be some unique results if you experiment.

bro ...check the b or n initial under the pu..
b means bridge and n means neck..
dont get the wrong one