OFFICIAL- Show us your kits thread!

Hi guys, it's been awhile since I last posted anything on this page. I was still crash-less there. Since then added some addition and upgraded some hardware as well. Hello to you mel, that day saw you with LGF!

Overall kit
21092008.jpg

Good old trusty K/Z
21092008001.jpg

Mix of Ks and K Customs
21092008002.jpg

First cymbal I owned
21092008003.jpg

A Custom acquired just yesterday
21092008004.jpg

Upgraded my old IC to DW5000
21092008005.jpg

Omar Hakim Snare with DW9000 stand
21092008006.jpg

The specs are as follows:
6" Zil Bel
8" K Splash
10" A Custom Splash
14" K/Z Dyno Beat Hi-Hats
16" K Dark Thin Crash
17" K Custom Fast Crash
18" K Custom Hybrid Crash
18" A Custom Crash
21" HH Raw Bell Dry Ride

DW 5000 Pedal
DW 9500 Hi Hat Stand
Tama Stagestar in Wine Red

My my, kick ass set you have there Jimmy.

Where did you get the A custom 18" from by the way? The last time I check with Yamaha Ps, they didnt have any on display.

Oh anyway I used the China Trash during jamming today. Sounds damn sick. Now I need more nasty crashes to compliment it. Hek Hek :mrgreen:

To shaney: Haha well I'm not exactly one lah, but working on it lah haha!

Hey spinningsticks: I forgot your name there! I rem you as LJ only, hey glad you like the China Trash! Powerful right, I think it's got a better owner in you than me! Glad you could really put it to good use! Yah it's not on the Yamaha tree, but been lingering on my mind for awhile. I just called up and check if they had stock, apparently they have.

OH ANW guys, Yamaha having this Combo Shop sale (20% off cymbals) for all purchases above 200 on cymbals, FREE TICKET TO MARCO MINNEEMAN CLINIC!

No worries man, everyone calls me Lj lol.

Holy Sh*t, when is the sale gonna end ? I definitely gotta make my way down to check out my dream cymbals.

NICE KIT! haha dun you find your crashes like to large? or your style requires so large?. i once had a 18" wa i could take the big sound. just my preference. but yea nice set up looks damn comfy. and the dw5000 MELTS!

Looking for guitarist/drummers to form glam rock band.

This is kind of out of topic but I desperately need to form a band!
Pardon me.

If you have listened to 70's & 80's rock, and keen to form a band.
Pls notify me.
If band is formed, we'll be playing classic rock mostly frm the 70's and 80's.
What's more, we'll be promoting vintage songs and making it a new genre in the Singapore scene.

once again, do notify me if u know anyone who's skilled in electric guitar/bass/drums/keyboard and is interested in forming a band regardless of genre. Thanks =)

drumsolo86:
Hey there. Good to see you around. :)
That HH Raw bell ride is for keepers man. Your first cymbal is already so high end! My first cymbal was a Sabian Pro Sonix splash. I still keep it even though I hardly use it at all these days. Sentimental value mah.

Man.... You must be a proud owner man drumsolo86 :) K and K custom crashes, not forgetting the awesome Sabian HHRBDR . one of the best..

OK - I have just added the Mic-Ring to the Mapex and the Gretsch (both small and cheaper kit) - just wanna make it look better - but to my surprise - it actually sounded better after cutting the MIc Hole...

5-1.jpg

4-1.jpg

3-1.jpg

This Grestch is already 2-year old with me....took 2 days to polish this Kit up on Saturday & Sunday - - it look good now.... and I've added the Mic-Hole (with a Chrome-Ring) to make it look good at the same time as above Mapex.

Both are 4" Mic Hole - as both The Bass Drum for the Mapex & the Gretsch Catalina Kit is just 18"

2-2.jpg

1-2.jpg

To kanzer: Yeah I like bigger crashes like 18" cos anything less will not cut thru at live gigs (especially if they're unmiced). They're bit powerful for home practise so I hit them lighter than compared to the 16" or 17" I have.

To heavenbjorn: Hey I'm just lucky to have all these stuff cos' of some lucky deals here and there and the Yamaha sales. Though good stuff doesn't make u a good drummer, but I feel having them inspires me to play better, you know what I mean? :)

RudimentalDrummer: How did u cut the mic hole? I ended up buying a yahama head with a pre-cut hole because I needed one for micing my bass drum.

I think the chrome thing is useful. My head is getting abit damaged when the mic or the mic stand hits the bare edge of the hole. :( Where did you get it from?

I’ve only send once to Swee Lee to cut a Mic Hole and it cost me S$10.00 (Helmi cut it for me but I have to Pay S$10.00 for cutting a 6” Mic Hole) – so now - I no longer bring it to Swee Lee (though I know Service Charges I’ve to pay for it)

Nowadays - - If I wanna cut Bass Drum Mic-Holes (and install Rings for Mic Holes) I see Nigel of Drum Resources. The last time I’ve to buy the (Black-Rings) as there isn’t any Chrome Rings at Drum Resources ….so I told Nigel (better bring in the Chrome ones as it is nicer- and it can match any Kit as most Kits uses Harware & Rims that are Chrome – and the Chrome-Plating type will be the most outstanding – as it makes a Kit look better, look more expensive.

So I brought 3 of my Bass-Drum-Reso (2 of which are for 18” Bass Drum as above and a 22” for my Yammies) to him to cut hole & fit the Chrome-Rings when they’re in (and they are in now). Nigel only charge me the Cost of the Chrome-Rings eg 4”=S$25.00 and 6” I think it’s S$28.00 only – The Service Charges for cutting the Bass-Drum Hole is FREE (His service to anyone).

Dah…dah and now - - I’ve given my Kit a better look.

PS; - These "O Rings" once fitted cannot be taken out usually, if taken out it runs the risk of damaging the Reso - the Bass Drum Reso will most likely tear - I've another 2 Bass Drum (that I need the 6" Chrome O Ring, now it's Silver in Colour cause I bought the Black to spray them-how stupid of me)...Nigel says he can try to take it out for me - but if it tears - of course I can't ask him to pay (that to me is fair and he is correct)......so, I'm afraid now - I dont dare to change that 2 Bass Drum O-Ring cause - the Bass Drum Reso had Design (like those Buddy-Rich Logo) on it...

Should I gamble on this ???? - I'm still hesitating. If successful - The Kit will look dam nice.eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

MLXnYAMAHAa.jpg

Eric

RD dun gamble! it looks stunning as it is already. haha man i see you have so many kits until i drool. is your house over crowded by your drums?

Marc haha i know shiok la.but abit loud for home sia.