New upcoming "High-end" Studio!

1st question: What is it that makes that studio your favourite?

Comfortable size (think 4 tones big room), 24 hour availability, Location with ample parking space, Reasonably good matching equipment. Sometimes the drums are just too loud for the room when matched with smaller amps.

2nd question: How much does it cost you, per hour, to jam at your favourite studio?

I don't mind $20- $30 per hour if its worth it. Bandmates I Jam with are working adults who can afford to pay.Problem is, there are not many places like soundbites anymore.And we normally book 3 hour slots so that we can take a breather here and there.

3rd question: Does the equipment available in a studio effect you?

P.A System for vocals is the most important to me, followed by a good drumset, Bass amps, and guitar amps in that order of priority.( I'm a guitarist by the way, but I think its easier to get a reasonably good sound out of a cheap guitar amp than a good sound of out a crappy bass amp, or drums, or PA system for that matter)

4th question: Does asthetics and quality effect your playing mood?

Of course. Lighting , but minimal la the effect.

Final question: Where do you usually go to do your recordings. i.e. Singles, Albums, Demos. How much did it cost you per hour?

Hmm not sure, I've done some at Shtung and a few others , but the producers paid for it.

Anyways- I think there is a need for a proper jamming place for serious adults. Maybe you can try to target that demography.

Nick has that pat down right.

"Anyways- I think there is a need for a proper jamming place for serious adults. Maybe you can try to target that demography."

You will be surprised to find that you can move rehearsal rooms at even $30 per hour. Have you seen the general conditions of Boon/ Wee Lee after years of abuse by kids who want quality to misuse them? Just because the drumset is not yours and you are not in your HDB bedroom doesn't mean you need to crank to 12.

And by 'high end', I presume you will be using Neve consoles for your recording room?

i think there are 2 types of studios i usually take into account - jamming/practice studios and recording studios. i'll give my feedback on each one.

Jamming - well maintained equipment. it doesn't need to be good or branded, amps don't need to be tube amps. all i ask for is working gear. all amp input jacks and instrument/mic cables should work well, no crackly connections. knobs should work well, all PA and amp speakers should not be blown. drumkits should be well maintained, cymbals should not be cracked. drum throne should be adjustable, not broken or stuck in some odd fixed position. snare wire should be intact.
Recording - a sound engineer i trust. not someone overconfident - i want someone who will do their best to give me what i want, not what they want. no amount of gear or good pricing or space in a studio will get me to record with engineer i don't trust.

2nd question: How much does it cost you, per hour, to jam at your favourite studio?
Jamming - at the moment I don't have a favorite studio but the one i currently practice at is $16/hr
Recording - i don't practice at the recording studio, i just go in to track, primarily. This depends on the engineer but I'd reckon it's between $70-120/hr.

Jamming - if it's well maintained and doesn't sound broken, and is reasonably powered (don't give me a 5w transistor amp and expect me to hear myself over a drummer), i'm fine with it.
Recording - a selection of different types of equipment is good. it doesn't need to be boutique or the best as long as the engineer/producer knows how to coax its best sounds out of it, and that they are good enough to make the final mix sound great. I've seen great equipment come out sounding shitty, and i've seen mediocre equipment coming out sounding epic, so i think the engineer plays a big part.

Jamming + Recording - nice aesthetics is nice to have but I can get by in an ugly room. well-maintained gear affects my playing mood in a positive way. a sofa is useful so people can to take breaks between recording or on long practice sessions.

Final question: Where do you usually go to do your recordings. i.e. Singles, Albums, Demos. How much did it cost you per hour?
Been to a few places, but Snakeweed is the only place I trust to record. (at the moment, at any rate...but I'm very comfortable there so it would take a lot to get me to go somewhere else)

Not much time to type here so I'll just do what I think I didn't read in the pages before:

1. Lighting is quite a let down in some studios because the owners prefer to use spotlights or other soft/warm lighting. I practise with scores so it's helpful to have adequate lighting for me to read without straining, with the option, of course, to turn them down for folks who don't require them.

2. It'll be very convenient to have sufficient music stands, mike stands and stools/seats in each room, so that I don't need to run out to ask for help everytime I enter the SAME studio to jam and set up.

Ambience, Friendly Staff, Rates, Sound

$16

Of course. Without solid sound, it will just ruin the whole jamming session and my mood.

If it looks ugly its ok. As long as the equipments are maintained properly and the studio does not stink, should be alright.

Snakeweed Studios. around $70 an hour. Worth the money spent! Don't think will record anywhere else in Singapore. Everything there is clear. Id say its a studio with standard. Great sound engineer and a crazy cat haha

Hi there Badger, hope our comments is helping. I'm a drummer and I've been playing and jamming for about 5 years already. From the perspective of the drummer, I would like to draw your attention that most of these studios had DECENT kits. If you're able to tweak and tune the drumset, you can get a fantastic tone out of it but some musicians totally bash the hell out of the set as well as the cymbals.

It really irks me to use broken cymbals and weird cymbals (hi hats as crashes) to play cos' I'm kinda particular on my sound and stuff like that. I usually have to end up bringing my own stuff and try to improvise with what's available. My point here is MAINTENANCE is the key. You may start out with everything good, but you've gotta watch over the maintenance and perform regular checks to see that skins are not broken, cymbals are not overhit. I hope this helps and ONTO your questions!

Location and quality of the equipment. (Like the bass drum pedal doesn't go flying when it hits the bass drum.)

16-18

Definitely does.

Minimal but I believe it affects sound acoustics of the room, which can affect recordings.

I use zoom h2!

I think a handful of us are interested to know more about the recording studio..what high end equipment would you be having?

Many factors: the location, price of the jam, the equipments and the acoustics of the room.

So far, we made membership @ Tiet and it sets us back $34 each time we jam.

3rd question: Does the equipment available in a studio affect you?

Yes... Please bring in Mesa & Marshall amps + some Gibbys lying around the studio. I swear I will come everyday to jam and chill.

4th question: Does aesthetics and quality effect your playing mood?

A little bit lah, but it is more of the factors mentioned in question 1 that affects us generally as a band, in looking for location to jam.

Recording :
1. Affordability...prefer less than 15 bucks(some studios provide discounts for safra members)
2. accesibility(prefer near office or home..haha)
3. quality(dun really bother wether the equipments are hi-end or not as long as sounds balanced and well maintained)

Recording
1. Sound engineer ability/skill
2. Quality
3. Price(hoping to get per song/per track package...recording can drag very long)

my fav so far :
1. Beat Merchant, Fourtones, back beat(jamming)
2. Focal Pro(Recording)