need recomendation for a bass guitar

where else got guitar shop, all dun ahve those i wants, mostly too x :( watother guitar places are there other then penisular there, bra bashar there, and sinmex there. :?:

ok got some money in hands, looking for a guitar around >1k, any recommendation? erm any good design? i dun like the j bass :lol:

Yes lots of options with 1k, such as mij fenders or even highway 1s.
Yamaha's are supposed to be good bets too. I don't like them though.

FeElDaGrOoVe said:
ok got some money in hands, looking for a guitar around >1k, any recommendation? erm any good design? i dun like the j bass :lol:

i think he made it clear abt J Bass...

dun like j then get p bass lah siao ur budget so high know!! u can also get yamaha their basses are v good what i think but XXX

i just remembered that subversion did a review on the ernie ball sub bass. reviews of that bass are excellent for that price range. you can get that for less than 1k at davis.

i dunno but its juz me, got bad experince at davis quite a long time before, i very jian about the display set, maybe is juz my side of story. anyway i think i gett the ibane bass 395 at 600++, or maybe some others

Re: ..

rottenramone said:
i just remembered that subversion did a review on the ernie ball sub bass. reviews of that bass are excellent for that price range. you can get that for less than 1k at davis.

well

sub bass PASSIVE is 980 (pre GST)
sub bass ACTIVE is 1280 (//)

and davis dosent HAVE sub bass stocks on hand , they will order and uld get it FRESH :P on the next shipment that comes in.

dun worry , i m sure the davis uncle wouldnt allow any nobody to just try out his basses. especially the sub bass :P

gibson said:
[i think he made it clear abt J Bass...

dunnoo

aerodyne isnt a real jazz bass ?

reason being ( for everyone's convenience , since ya own a AJB and probably know all this : no offence taken k bro ? just sharing for the sake of everyone )

(1) basswood body - less bright sound. aerodyne is noted for being mellow and deeper , perhaps a more "darker" smoother jazzy vibe rather than the classic alder-body / ash-body bright sound characteristic of almost ALL fenders.

- ALSO : the aerodyne features a unique AERODYNAMIC body , which is slimmer in terms of width and is curved more than the traditional jazz body. the basswood also makes it lighter and a joy to play at long sessions. dun really buy the stuff about the aerodyne being aerodynamic and all but , guess it would be fantastic bass to play for long hours straight

(2)P-J pickup combo. - traditional jazz bass is J-J single coil pup configs.when in JJ config, tends to sound more deep voiced , less bright and most importantly HUM CANCELLING. PJ has some hum because the P is a split P and there is a single J , some white noise. P allows the aerodyne to be brighter and similarly the J lends it a deep voice. best of both worlds.

(3) VINTAGE frets - if i m not mistaken , smaller neck and thinner neck profile than the standard jazz, wonderful to play at fast speeds.smaller frets too , better for asian fingers ( personally : a helluva lot of difference when u transfer from a jumbo frets to vintage frets) smaller frets= faster fingering too ? thats how i feel its built

seems tat most likely i am getting rbx 375/374, now i am confused whether to get a 4 string or 5 string, i nvr played before a 5 string, was strucked with the lousy sx bass :evil:

ah ..

374 would do i suppose , i find the 375 neck very uncomfortable . worlds apart form the 374. why the extra string and extra 100 bucks for something which u may have no need for yet at the moment ?

stick to the 374 :D yamaha tampines has 2 at the moment if i m not mistaken , one red and one black. the fingerests on the 374 are KILLER stuff on that bass, makes it great to play. the unique greyish back neck finish makes it really silky smooth , the best part is , that silky finish dosent make it difficult to play even if you have like sweaty hands after long periods of jamming . like for maple necks ? after jamming for a long time , i tend to find that maple necks need to be wiped and cleaned if not as smooth.

the 374 sports a maple neck but its finished on the back

Eh brother stars, no offence but no need to promote the AJB like crazy right?
There will be people who love it and people who dislike it. :)

thx guys alot, i got my rbx 374 today at ps yamaha. erm how cum need to insert battery on the back of the bass? my other bass no need leh. and my 9v battery cant seems to fit in the hole leh, somemore i plug in to my tuner, like no sound, muz put in battery then got sound izzit? will take some pictures next month, my father took his camera out to holiday

hmm tried, really felt tat playing it is dam relaxing, is like i juz need to tap on the fret and play whereas my sx bass need to press it really freaking hard. oh man! dam shiok, i got it in the silver colour, it look really great :lol: hehe so happy :lol:

wangdexian said:
Eh brother stars, no offence but no need to promote the AJB like crazy right?
There will be people who love it and people who dislike it. :)

no problem >> lol .. not doing it out of self promotion or anything but .. lol .. have been GASSING for it since april lol .. must imagine how repressed my GAS must be lol .. not promoting it like crazy , just damned passionate bout it :P

FeElDaGrOoVe said:
thx guys alot, i got my rbx 374 today at ps yamaha.

yamaha din give you a battery ? RBX 374 is an active bass with 2 EQ boost / cut preamp. u need a 9V battery to power the preamp. instead of installing it horizontally , the rbx374 has a slot which needs u to turn the battery sideways and install it by plugging in the wire connection and lining it up properly with the batt holder strap and placing it in gently.

man .. if i had $ to spare i would get a 374 too :P love the neck

woo they didnt give me, but even i insert the battery in a correct position, the cover will like pop out abit, but i guess its still alright. the neck is woohoo :lol: i now using a 10watt sx bass still, but i think its still alrite for praticising? very happy :D and i got my bass guitar bag over frm yamaha again, but it kinda kind of weird when i carry it. its in slanging carry position and the weight of the guitar is like all focusing on my shoulder, very uncomtable. and there is one extra strap to strap around my waist, its like wearing a parashoot thingy :oops: