need recomendation for a bass guitar

FeElDaGrOoVe

hi ya, looking for a bass guitar tat can last around 2 years like tat. wanted to get yamaha rbx 374, wonder is tat good or is there better choices. is esp ltd b 50 a good choice as well?

i tried the 374 before .. i totally love the neck and playability

i was told by someone much skilled and better than me who thankfully helped me ( you know who u are bro ! thanks alot ) and told me the RBX 374 lacked balance and is tonally on the rather weakside.

but i just love it for its playability. its a bass tt ya can go miles and miles and miles and miles just having fun playing it . neck may seem rather wide , generous string spacing but the unique neck finish and its size makes it feel wonderful.

playability - would rate it a personal 9/10 ( like it alot, really do)

LTD B 50 was at luther recently. i tried it . suffice to say. a decent guitar but not strong traits tt really make u feel that its really nice .

the 374 is uber playable but lacks things like tonal range ( feels abit lacking on the treble and low end , lotsof mids) and balance.

the LTD b50 on the otherhand has pretty decent workmanship for its place of manufacture . i mean , it looks of a much higher quality standard then what you might expect from the origin and at that cost. but do beware. the LTD b50 is an agathis body. you might not like an agathis body.

as mentioned earlier , the LTD b50 lacks and outstanding characterisitc sound and playability wise . average about there. sounds pretty much run of the mill.

my advice is , go for the 374 if you like the playability and feel comfortable with it. the thumbrests are just fantastic on that bass.

FeElDaGrOoVe, i think it's best if u can try watever model u plan 2 get........

cos different ppl....... different taste........ :roll:

wat i like don't mean u'll like it 2 lor........ :wink:

:twisted:

FeElDaGrOoVe said:
hi ya, looking for a bass guitar tat can last around 2 years like tat. wanted to get yamaha rbx 374, wonder is tat good or is there better choices. is esp ltd b 50 a good choice as well?

any bass would last you a life time if you respect & take good care of it. give us more to work with- are you after any specific tone/ looks/ specs?

i tried before both, but didnt really test out but somehow i felt tat holding rbx is more relaxing, but didnt really test out the sound of both instrument. i guess i get rbx, thx :D

actually i will very much like a bass guitar with a natural finish, and even best maple wood fretboard :lol: hopefully less than 700 :lol:

I duno if its still at swee lee, try the Cort Jazz bass copy (slightly smaller body though) with Maple fingerboard. Looks promising at its price at <700. Take note, the strings are dead. I can smell em from where i stood. So be objective when you play it. Good luck.

:lol: sweelee :lol:

btw yr guitar in yr avatar looks cool, i always "steam" when i see guitar with natural finish, they juz look simply cool. actually any <700 bass guitar with natural finish? maybe tml i gotta go down to luther and davis to take alook.

yes there is- the OLP MM2, not even $550 @ Davis...

mm2nt.jpg

yeah it is amazing! but anywhere else other than davis? i dunno but most of my friends told me davis stuff are kinda old? its looks simply cute, omg i am spinning now

the OLP MM2 is a full-sized bass, this pic makes it look a little contorted. here's another to convince you:

22858.jpg

be assured that the display moels @ Davis are well taken care of. i'm not affiliated to them, of course...

dunno leh juz dun like display set, dun have the stinky brand new small tat smell great :lol: nvm i juz emailed them and asked whether do they have any natural finish not the gloss one with maplefretboard, cos i did some searches and found out there are rosewood type of mm2 as well :lol:

95672.jpg

this look pretty cool, washburn t24, anyone know whether is this available in sg? its 300usd for a neck through body type! 8O

FeElDaGrOoVe - You can check with Sweelee, I think they're still holding to their washburn distro.

Don't get into the neck thru/bolt on comparisions though - do test the basses irrespective of their construction. It'll truly be the way to find out which bass is better for you. :)