need help playing upbeats

chud

hey whats up guys. I started playing the drums like 4 months ago and i need some help playing upbeats. How do i maintain a 4/4 on the hi-hat playing upbeats. For eg;
H -x--x--x--x--x
S -o------o-----o
B ---o--o--o--o--

something like this...i have trouble keeping the constant strokes on the hi-hat, it ends up following the bass drum strokes. any tips? btw im a rightie.

:)
i guess you should start out slow, as slow as possible, jus to get the groove right. when you get the rythem then move faster
jut my 2 cents worth..
:wink:

Keep a chick on the downbeat, then play the upbeats on a ride. Keep doing it until it feels natural, then slowly add more stuff to complete the groove. It's a feel thing, not necessarily a technique prob.

eh bro i suggest u know wat or not?

i think ur hi hat u play quavers first :

| x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-
| x--- ---- x - -----
| -- x - -x---x---x
1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &

sorry arr very hard to type some dash some 'x' haha so the lines abit don't correspond.. but hope u understand the groove.
in other words.. u try this first which is to hit the hi hat togehter with the other drums u hit.. AIYAH.. haha err try to understand wat i'm saying.
once u got it down and comfortable.. remove those hi hat hits on the '&' counts and u'll get wat u originally posted!!

in other words mr. buah is trying to say...SUB DIVIDE!

sub division is a musicians best friend.If its in 4/4, count in 8ths...u cant count in 16th for accuracy...32s for killer accuracy...64 if ur nuts and ur mouth doesnt hurt... :lol:

1 e n a 2 e n a 3 e n a 4 e n a

PS: i shud start taking my own advice...i hate counting drum scores

start off slow. it helps if you try to do it bit by bit first without needing to be in time (if you get what i mean), and then working on time when your limbs are more familiar with the strokes.
also try to do each limb seperately in time, and then adding the other limbs slowly. i know i've repeated some stuff, sorry hehe.