just starting out on the MUSE-ic!

no lah i dont think there is whammy in the song. and dont bother with the whammy pedal, if u're still using the G2.1u.

while u check out the G2.1u at City Music, do check out the Korg Ax3000g. 2nd hand can get for 250. more features. you wouldn't wanna always rely on patches. try and fine the tone, go through each effect u have (or u will have) to learn what each does. multi efx is sure a good way for beginners to learn about efx.

likewise, don't think he uses whammy in that song at all..might be the synth going so high pitch it warbles, lol

lol.now i count the no. of times the Korg appear more than the g2.1u actually.if im not wrong only one person recommend g2,then some of u have been telling me to try the korg.well,on korg site to read specs now!:mrgreen:

lol just "researched" the korg.does it have fuzz effects?haven't seen any demo showing fuzz with the korg.only alot of overdrive and high gain.

LOL!didn't think to google.my bad!my "research" was typing korg ax3000g on youtube demo and see what effects those guys who uploaded videos show...then didn't find any fuzz on their videos.kk.
hmm,but unknown,why you keep recommending me the korg ax3000g?what's much better about this than the g2.1u?i know for one,the korg ax3000g doesn't have as much patches shared online as the g2.1u(it has 0 muse patches!T_T).and,what's the price difference?
i can't compare the amp effect differences,cos i got this on korg,but nothing on the g2.1u.g2's website only says 54 diff effect types.
DRIVE/AMP MODEL (16 types):

TUBE OD, BOUTIQUE OD, FAT DIST, ORANGE DIST, METAL DIST, SHRED DIST, FUZZ, OCTAFUZZ, BOUTIQUE CL, BLACK 2x12, AC15, AC30TB, UK 68P, UK ‘80S, UK MODERN, US MODERN

CABINET MODEL (11 types):

TWEED 1x8, TWEED 1x12, TWEED 4x10, BLACK 2x10, BLACK 2x12, VOX AC15TBX, VOX AC30TBX, VOX AD120VTX, UK H30 4x12, UK T75 4x12, US V30 4x12

Pre Effect (11 types):

COMP, PICKUP, ACOUSTIC, VOX WAH, AUTO WAH, U-VIBE/PHASE, CHORUS/FLANGER, OCTAVE, RING MOD, DRONE, SYNTH

Modulation Effect (11 types):

CLASSIC CHORUS, MULTI TAP CHORUS, CLASSIC FLANGER, BI CHORUS, DUO PHASE, TEXTREM, ROTARY, PITCH SHIFTER, RANDOM STEP FILTER, FILTRON, TALK MOD

Delay Effect (11 types):

ECHO PLUS, MULTI HEAD, ANALOG DELAY, MOD DELAY, SWEEP DELAY, 2TAP DELAY, CROSS DELAY, RHYTHM DELAY, HOLD DELAY, REVERSE DELAY, FREEZ

Reverb Effect (11 types):

SLAP, SPRING, BOUNCE, PLATE, GARAGE, CHAMBER, CANYON, ROOM, STUDIO, HALL, ARENA

Noise Reduction

because i've owned the korg and i had good experience with it. im not putting down the zoom though as i had little experience with it. the korg is easier to use and more tweaking abilities from what i see. price difference im sure u can check urself.

last say: test both. u have the convenience of having both recommended units available at the same place.

lol but i dunno how to test.i mean i dun even know how to play a power chord,how to test for the pedal?
and then,what about patches?i cant find any muse or other bands i listen to's patches for the korg lol.i know cannot rely on patch,but then what.i have to tweak here tweak there for a few mths then can find the sound i want meh.T_T

then ask the person to demo for u the efx. im sure they can do that.

and yes of course you have to tweak here and there. take months? people take YEARS to get a desired tone. nobody gets their tone within a day. if not, whats with people buying and selling gears because they want a different sound or the pedal they thought can give the sound, actually cant? finding ur tone is a long journey. matt certainly didnt get his tone by downloading patches. he tweaks here and there.

im sorry to be harsh, but if u want to play guitar, or if u wanna be like matt bellamy, short cuts arent the way to go.

and u're lucky u havent catch the GAS virus yet. look forward to much tweaking in the future.

that guy on youtube kinda looks like a pedo to me for some reason >.<
The only time he uses the whammy is at the end with his own funky addon part :O

then ask the person to demo for u the efx. im sure they can do that.

and yes of course you have to tweak here and there. take months? people take YEARS to get a desired tone. nobody gets their tone within a day. if not, whats with people buying and selling gears because they want a different sound or the pedal they thought can give the sound, actually cant? finding ur tone is a long journey. matt certainly didnt get his tone by downloading patches. he tweaks here and there.

im sorry to be harsh, but if u want to play guitar, or if u wanna be like matt bellamy, short cuts arent the way to go.

and u're lucky u havent catch the GAS virus yet. look forward to much tweaking in the future.

Given what theunknown has stated,and what you've mentioned about the availability of patches for the KORG.I vote the G2.1u!Quite reliable and the patches are more easier to find than the KORG.(I've Googled a few sites,try and see if you can find some on your own too.)KORG seems rather large anyways.And these guys were recommending you to take your multi effects to gigs instead of bringing your amp and your pedal,so portability is a factor.
Cheers!:cool:

Hi,hi,guys!Like TS,I'm going to buy some gear to kill time over the holidays,and I want to be doing MUSE-y stuff also.Can I ask you all if this set-up sounds reasonable?Cos' I'm probably going down the day after tomorrow and get all the gear I need and play,play,play!!!:-D

Guitar - Rally GL-300/400 Les Paul Copy (No diff. right?Has anyone actually tried BOTH and can say they feel the same?)
AMP - Vox Pathfinder 15R
Multi Effects - KORG AX3000G

All in all should cost me about $800+ or so?Fits my budget,somewhat.:mrgreen:

Wanna get opinions/advice on these gear,whether they can be used to play MUSE material,and more alternative rock stuff.:twisted:

lol,actually i still don't know if you can get a fuzz effect out of multi effects units like the KORG.my set up's gonna be something like yours,but maybe sub the amp with a Sound-Drive SG-10.:cool:

you guys should try searching for these words on youtube:

muse zoom

muse korg

i've found loads of videos of people covering them using these units. nothing beats hearing them yourself. be sure to add &fmt=18 behind the youtube url's if they are not HD

you guys should try searching for these words on youtube:

muse zoom

muse korg

i've found loads of videos of people covering them using these units. nothing beats hearing them yourself. be sure to add &fmt=18 behind the youtube url's if they are not HD

lol i love you.always reminding me what i'm missing out on!;)

Hi,hi,guys!Like TS,I'm going to buy some gear to kill time over the holidays,and I want to be doing MUSE-y stuff also.Can I ask you all if this set-up sounds reasonable?Cos' I'm probably going down the day after tomorrow and get all the gear I need and play,play,play!!!:-D

Guitar - Rally GL-300/400 Les Paul Copy (No diff. right?Has anyone actually tried BOTH and can say they feel the same?)
AMP - Vox Pathfinder 15R
Multi Effects - KORG AX3000G

All in all should cost me about $800+ or so?Fits my budget,somewhat.:mrgreen:

Wanna get opinions/advice on these gear,whether they can be used to play MUSE material,and more alternative rock stuff.:twisted:

hey TS & lcaltrock,are you guys newbies?Like,have completely no guitar experience prior whatsoever??(Please do not take any offence with this,I'm just trying to get clear here so I can help you better.)
Because if that's the case,I got a better/less expansive suggestion for you.
Get a guitar that's cheap but of good standard - The Rally LP suggested by others fufils this expectation,it's 400-ish and it's the closest you'll get to a Gibson LP's sound around this price range.Then get a simple,reliable modelling amp,such as a Roland Cube 20x,with simple effects such as reverb,tremolo.
With a modelling amp,and a good guitar like the Rally LP,the total cost will come to around...maybe $600+?
The reason I'm suggesting getting a simple modelling amp like the Roland with just some simple effects is so that while you begin to grasp the basics of guitar playing,you have some effects to play around with,in trying to create this "MUSE sound" which you guys have been talking about.
It's also better than a fully loaded multi effects unit while learning the basics,you'll have lesser frustrations trying to mess around with the numerous amounts of effects available on multi effects units and just doodle around with the simpler ones like reverb,etc.This will make your beginner-days a little more simpler and efficient,with you being able to concentrate on getting better in playing the guitar,instead of trying to figure out more complicated effects such as modulation.
Hope I've helped in one way or another.:cool:

on one hand, i agree with breakout. beginners nowadays start with such fancy stuff. i spent nearly a year with a TGM les paul and a johnson amp. haha. on another hand, mfx sure is a good way to start learning about effects, though learning too much effects in the early stage may compromise ur learning of playing the guitar itself!

lcaltrock: thats a good setup. i've owned the korg and i owned the vox amp. they're good for beginners, though the korg maybe alil complicated for total beginners. still, what's the manual for right? do note that the korg is the high end of the series while the G2.1u mentioned somewhere is a quite low end of its series. the guitar, u've seen the reviews urself. now go ahead and try those stuff urself.

mfx sure is a good way to start learning about effects, though learning too much effects in the early stage may compromise ur learning of playing the guitar itself!
Yes, that is reason why i recommended the G2.1t and not a pod x3 live, gt-10 or the korg ax3000 for that matter.

i have this feeling that loading patches from computer to pedal for the zoom pedal is easier compared to the korg ax3000. i've briefly tried both before and i think the G2.1u will suit TS more at this point

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
edit:

as for the amp, you could check the Randall Ninja Combo out

http://theguitaraddict.blogspot.com/2008/10/randall-ninja-combo.html
subversion did a review on this unit.

On thing good about this is it has a 12" driver. a 12" Celestion 50 for that matter. and it is priced very reasonably.

size of drivers affect mostly the low end of ur tone. generally, there's not much of an issue with us guitarist hitting the highs because most speakers do that well. the sweet spot for the lows and the low-mids are not as easy to achieve with small drivers (speakers) so getting a 12" will give u a "bigger" sound as more air is moved when it vibrates. is also explains why full stacks usually contain 8 × 12"s >.<

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
edit:

after checking again, found out that the 12" driver in the randall ninja isn't a celestion 50, but a randall model instead. still a good combination overall though!

yup.perhaps if you guys still want to stick to pedals,just get the Zoom G2.1U.the unit seems to have been around for a long time to have patches online for some MUSE songs.if you search "Muse Zoom G2.1U" on YouTube,you'll be pleased to know that there's at least 2 pages of people who uploaded covers using the Zoom.And if you've searched "Zoom G2.1U",you'll be even happier to see a variety of artists' tones available to copy,from Metallica to Jimi Hendrix.On the other hand,the KORG,apart from having wider parameters to control,also doesn't seem to have enough resources online.;)

ampwise,I'd still highly recommend the Sound Drive SG-10/15(I haven't tried the SG-15,so if someone pops in and gives it the thumbs up,I think it's ok to go for Sound Drive amps),or the Vox Pathfinder 15R if you can afford it.You know,amps with great cleans is all you need since you'll have distortion and what not on your pedals.Have your amps on clean,and get the rest from the pedal.:cool:

MadWerewolfBoy:Interesting Randall Ninja Combo...

"For many of us, owning an amp which is beyond 30W is strictly a NO, due to volume concerns. Well, I played the Ninja V2XNM 1x12 combo recently & I'm very impressed with the performance in relation to tones."

Don't get what his trying to drive at here,though.