how to relieve shaky fingers when play guitar

koolguy74sg

hi there,

I have been playing guitar for more than 6 years. Whenever i play guitar my fingers start to get shaky. Anyone knows how to help this?

Rgds
kool

you should consult a doctor, it could be something to do with your nerves.

just a question, does it get shaky only when u play in front of an audience (meaning even in front of 1 person or more), or is it trembling even when u r playing alone?

if in front of others, then chances are u're just nervous. if it happens all the time regardless of public or private time, u could be having nerve problems.

ask urself, does it tremble when u write? type? hold a cup? if so, go consult a neurologist, or get a referral from your family doctor.

Well, then the good news is that you probably don't have Parkinson's disease.

The bad news is that you probably have a mild phobia commonly called 'stage fright'.

There are a number of techniques to overcome it - the first is the obvious radical aversion therapy where you confront your fear as directly as possible by performing as often as possible, or doing anything in front of a crowd like public speaking etc.

Next, you can try various things to make yourself feel more comfortable such as (very commonly used) imagining the entire crowd naked (this works for me when I speak in public as I frequently address all female groups ;)).
If you are afraid of playing bum notes or doing stuff wrong be aware that 99% of audiences have no clue what it is that you should be playing, are not musical and quite often (and quite sadly) aren't paying attention anyway and are too busy chatting to friends or ordering drinks. If you play something wrong, few people are going to notice so why worry? :) This might help you calm your nerves a little.

Thanks for the advice.