Edder's Kustom Kvlt DIY '69 Terecaster

i am in the process of building my own guitar too..but i know nuts about setting up the electronics and stuff..like how do you wire the pickups to the volume knobs and output jack etc.... any website that teaches you on such stuff...i wouldnt wanna spend like 80 bucks more just to bring it to a shop to set it up for me

fgl, it'll be all chrome hardware. I totally detest gold hardware. Have to deal with tarnishing and it gives that pseudo chi chi look at me bling bling look that i don't like.

I've got 2 sets of hardware for this. Korean made 3 saddle vintage style Wilkinson bridge and a modern 6 saddle. A set of GFS hugeass quarter pounder poles and a set of Bill Lawrence Keystones. Some vintage Fender amp black knobs. Gibson style 3 way toggle switch. Have an ugly tortoiseshell 69 tele pickguard that i got ripped off on ebay and a white pearloid one. Might consider getting a 3 ply black for this. see how lah.

I don't think I'd want to fill up em pores. Leave em raw and woody. Also I won't dye the fretboard. The reason why i specced macassar ebony is for the stripes. :mrgreen: The tuners are drilled to Planetwaves selfcutting locking tuners. I love these tuners so they'll be there.

And yes... I won't be bothered to put any decal. As Gr3y mentioned, I made it not Fender and its my little mongrel.... :mrgreen:

Gr3y: ahhh... no worries. I was a chinese kung fu master too... in fact I still am. hahaha.... just that building these guitars is a hobby and I'll never persue this to be a possible source of income. So caring and sharing is totally ok.

Just that I totally resent noobs that want information fed right into their mouth rather than doing some research and discuss. Isn't it much healthier this way? Research, discuss, share, action rather than tell me, tell me, tell me macam the education system.

sunrisen blues: search online for guitar electronic wiring, pickup websites like dimarzio and seymour duncan, they have everything there and more.

Hi guys OT abit.

recently did a relic (i used sandpaper and stuff)

and after that theres alot of scratches(and white powdery stuff)
only when i wipe it with a moist cloth it'll go away but it'll come back once its dry

i dont have a buffering machine so was wondering what types of Polish or anything helps with this?

help would be awesome :D

thanks

Hi guys OT abit.

recently did a relic (i used sandpaper and stuff)

and after that theres alot of scratches(and white powdery stuff)
only when i wipe it with a moist cloth it'll go away but it'll come back once its dry

i dont have a buffering machine so was wondering what types of Polish or anything helps with this?

help would be awesome :D

thanks

soldi, you'll need something like a swirl remover paste which is something like a very fine polishing paste. I bought mine tube at a auto paint shop in Msia... sooooo..... but you probably can try some Meguiars car detailing products. They're available from most hypermarts and probably Autobacs in Bukit Batok. A swirl polishing buffer will help the process a lot too.

Wah interesting stuff Edwin! But can the F-hole be in the shape of a "V" - hehehehe. Sorry ah, just kidding.

How much though? You planning to sell these?

And is it possible to get a guitar with a tele-body to sound like a Strat?

RoRK

nope no plans to sell em. its just a personal project.

as for a tele sounding like a strat. why not? get a tele body, route it like a strat with a tremolo cavity, add strat pickups and you'll get a stratotele.

Bugger!!! You should be a poet!

Always loved the Tele's body but prefer a Strat's ooomph!
Stratotele! I RIKES!

RoRK

soldi, you'll need something like a swirl remover paste which is something like a very fine polishing paste. I bought mine tube at a auto paint shop in Msia... sooooo..... but you probably can try some Meguiars car detailing products. They're available from most hypermarts and probably Autobacs in Bukit Batok. A swirl polishing buffer will help the process a lot too.

thanks :D i bought a scratch and swirl remover from the gas station . looks better now.

"Assembled" them together to see the visual outcome.

With white pearl pickguard
2222172464_b6b18e8170_o.jpg

With horrid looking tortoiseshell
2221380473_bfb78bbfa7_o.jpg

Back of the guitar
2221380231_bc0ff7ef23_o.jpg

Side image to show the top and back of the body
2222172186_4867a0047a_o.jpg

Am contemplating between these 2 pickguards. Or should I just stick with that ugly tortoise shell?

Black pearl pickguard?
2221380007_b8a23e1df5_o.jpg

or Black Abalone pickguard?
2221379831_1dcfe49201_o.jpg

cannot leh... i don't wanna expose that oval cavity. a pickguard is a must for this tele 69 style

oh yah ..forgot about that

abalone pickguard .... or if you could do a real white pearl (not pearloid) pick guard . Check thee duke of pearl website - they sell thin sheets of aballone & pearl for easy lamination.

lightice: as mentioned it is alder dyed to rosewood.

fgl: oh my... duke of pearl looks good but their veneers seems too symetrical and not random.

rimuel: i'd actually prefer a darker pickguard to match with the back and headstock but it does look good too.

godspeed64: wow, another vote for the white one... hmmm.