Cheap method of sound proof room.

Eh guys, how to make a HDB flat guest room sound proof eh? Like paste those black sponge like thing on the wall? Cause sometimes wnana crank up vol also hard, im using a 20 watters and it cant go more than 12 O clock positioning.

I'm using those aluminium windows, no air-con (worst). Any methods like stick what things on wall to reduce to vol heard outside? Sorry i'm a newbie at this, look at my nick lol.

Too bad if your flat does not have those air raid shelter as storeroom. You can close the door and whck as loud as you want.

Either case, find a room which is the furthest from any opening or window. Still the storeroom I guess.

Sponge WON'T help, it difusses sound and absorbtion is only very limited and you have to seal your room air tight to achieve very reduced sound output.

Think of sound as WATER, and your room is filled with water to the ceiling. So the water will seep out ofNY hole or opening, same with sound.

Maybe you should go to the root of the sound source. Your amp. If you are using transistor amp with a 12" speaker, difference in tone when it's loud or soft is little. Unless you have a TUBE amp, then you need the volume to get the sweet sound.

My advise, be realistic and considerate. Elec guitar sound when crank up is VERY VERY LOUD and travel very far. If you stay in a flat, be kind to your neighbours. You want loud, go to a jamming studio, you can go as loud as the owner permit you to go.

so is there realli no way?

my house have the shelter kind of storeroom dats says its bomb proof blah blah :lol: but its pack with things and its so small..

Trying throwing ur clothes around. ( fabric works )

Fabric absorbs sound very well i heard... :wink:

and to add.. mikeman.. i dont think its possible about the store room you said..