Can we plug a bass guitar into a normal guitar amp?

gorilla83

Hi ppl..
i'm a guitar noob..
wanna ask 2 questions, namely,

1) Can we plug a bass guitar into a normal guitar amp? Will doing that spoil the guitar amp?

2) Do we need any extra stuff to plug an acoustic electric guitar into the computer? (line-in port) If we plug directly into the computer, will the volume be very soft?? :roll:

Thanks in advance for ur replies! :wink:

yes, you need a amp then to your computer... but i think it should work fine with a straight plug in... and bass guitar plugged into a guitar amp is fine.. it wont spoil the amp but the sound will be like crapp

heya.

1) er coiltap u sure? i'm pretty sure i read all over that bass guitar into guitar amps = busted cones. someone clarify?

2) that, i'm not too sure. but my electric does sound softer than usual when i plug it into line in, even with effects. no idea about an acoustic. maybe a DI or something similar is needed?

i dunnoe.. but thats what the shop uncle say.. .haha... but i think it depends on what amps... what amps do u use?

for the guitar line in thing... u should plug it into an amp first.. then the amp output to your computer.. then it would not sound softer.. but make sure your amp is good, either use an amp, a DI box or an amp modeller.....

Re: I've got some questions =)

gorilla83 said:
Hi ppl..
i'm a guitar noob..
wanna ask 2 questions, namely,

1) Can we plug a bass guitar into a normal guitar amp? Will doing that spoil the guitar amp?

Thanks in advance for ur replies! :wink:

This was posted... Maybe you can do a search...

xspace said:

If I am not wrong, the posted you mentioned is regarding a guitar into a bass amp.
Threadstarter's talking about a bass into a guitar amp.

Anyway, bass requires a passive input from the guitar amp to be able to be plugged in.
The guitar uses an active input.

Phil said:
xspace said:

If I am not wrong, the posted you mentioned is regarding a guitar into a bass amp.