Building your own guitars

iwanttobebach

Just thought I'd share a somewhat interesting passion of mine. I'm really into building classical guitars, mostly as a hobby or a part-time thing (I'm a graduate student by day/weekdays in NUS). Which means I only get to work on my guitar on weekends when I'm home. I thought about it for a few months, then spent a few months doing my 'research' and reading up from various resources and subsequently decided to plunge into it in the middle of this year.

Since most, if not all posts here are on electric/acoustic guitars, this might be a little out of place, but I thought I'd suss out if there's anyone who is as eccentric as I am to even contemplate the thought of building guitars in a place such as Singapore.

Having said that, it's not cheap (my list of materials and tools are running into a few K, and it doesn't look like stopping any time soon), it's not easy (I've had numerous repetitive strain injuries from chiselling and sawing since I don't use power tools) and it's a lonely job, but it's one heck of a satisfying 'hobby', if you might call it so. You learn alot of things in the process - patience and attention to detail are 2 virtues comes to mind - truth be told, I'm still lacking in the former. Tools are clearly a scarce commodity in Singapore - the local HomeFix have problems understanding my needs, so eBay and a few luthier supply stores in the US are a decent alternative. I say this in jest, of course - there's lots of good stuff in terms of materials and tools over there.

This current build of mine is Italian alpine spruce top with Bolivian rosewood (Pau Ferro) back and sides. All solid woods of course. 650mm/54mm (scale length/nut width). Typical Spanish cedar neck, ebony fingerboard, indian rosewood bridge. French polished (if everything goes well). The bracing pattern I'm using uses a modified Hauser/Torres 7-fan brace with a Romanillos-type open harmonic bars (transverse bars) in the upper bout.