Need Help: Cracking sound when recording

jswee_911

Hi there. I'm very new to recording so pardon my language. Have read through most of the post including DIY for recording before setting out to get my gears. Ended up with a very basic setup of AT2020 & Presonus Audio Box USB and simple mic stand + pop filter. Was looking to record an acoustic guitar and vocal, and not exactly looking for 'studio' or 'pro' recording, just wanted to get some simple records.

1) I've downloaded and used the latest software for the PreSonus Audiobox.

2) Phantom Power is working well (ie, no flicking lights) power seems constant. All volumes left unchanged (ie, at the 12 o'clock mark)

3) Installed StudioOne which came with the AI. Also using Audacity.

4) PC is 2.6Ghz Quad Core with 8gig ram.

I first started doing Mic Test with Audacity and realised that somehow that are freq cracking sound when i'm recording. This sound a bit like static interferance. I then used StudioOne to record, the cracking sound was less obvious, and in fact there are no interference when i'm not speaking into the mic, in fact i can hear some background noise in my room but recording was 'clean', when i start speaking again, the 'crack' or 'slight thumping' began again.

Am i doing something wrong (ie, settings?) or can anyone advice how i should resolve this?
I've tried both channels on the Audiobox but both had the same issues.

Could the 'craking' sound be due to you speaking too close/loud to the microphone? The 2020 is a condenser afterall.

If you use pop filer, look at two thing. Your capture vocal got any peak? If so, then lower mic input, and put track volume up to listen to your voice. So it is adjusting the mic volume, and track volume.