Guitar Recommendations around $500

mickey18588

Hi

Previous I started a thread asking for opinions between Yamaha FG730S vs Alvarez AD70 for my next guitar
http://www.soft.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?334600-Yamaha-FG730S-vs-Alvarez-AD70-for-my-next-guitar
The responses I gotten were pretty much subjective to the person's preference. I did my research on the web and FG730S seems to draw raving reviews everywhere while AD70 is pretty silent.

I personally liked the sound of AD70 but perhaps I am not experienced enough to really tell. I have been playing for more than a year now and my current guitar is a Yamaha F310 so any better guitar sounds good. But instead of narrowing down to only 2, I decided to expand my horizon and look to other brands. Went to Swee Lee and found a few Cort and Ibanez guitars within that range (didn't really note the models) that sounded pretty decent. I hear Takamine is also pretty ok.

So I would like to ask you guys your personal recommendations based on your experience with the various brands. Something that would justify the price of it, my budget is around $500 plus/minus $50. Appreciate if you could recommend some specific models and where I can find it. Thanks!

1. Since tone preferences are subjective, of course everyone's recommendation will be subjective. Hence the advice to use your own ears. Online reviews are subject to the same subjectivity, so they're only useful as far as understanding how many people can like the same tone. That being said, it is possible to tell 'bad tone' from 'good tone'; subjectivity arises because people have difference preferences for their own desired tone.

2. You've tried out those all those models mentioned, so if you really cannot distinguish which one you like best, look at more empirical things like price, warranty, freebies, guitar condition (cosmetic, fret levels/wear etc) and playability.

Hey Mickey,