Guitar for a newbie?

irishblue

I'm relatively new to guitar playing. Looking for a first electric guitar. My budget's around $400-500+ for the guitar and amp. I read through a couple of the reviews here and am considering the Ibanez Jumpstart Package or the Ibanez SA120. The package seems like an easy bundle since everything is in. If I should get the SA120, which amps should I get? I'm quite clueless about amps. Is the Marshall MS-2 or MS-4 Micro any good? Or maybe a Laney HCM10?

Or do you guys have any guitars in that price range to recommend?

PS: Are the prices listed on the sweelee website already "discounted"? As they have a cancelled U.P. and another discount price on the top.

For your budget, the jumpstarts are good enough...

And don't bother with the marshall microstacks. And don't bother with the Laney HCM10s.

If you can spare abt $150 more, you should consider getting a guitar and a Roland microcube instead of the jumpstart. Or get a nice 2nd amp on Luther. I'm sure you have friends who know their gear.

!?!

Woot!?! $400-$500 can get an Ibanez RG321 frm Swee Lee. But thats jus axe alone.

Axe w amp? Maybe u can buy starter kit.

PS: Are the prices listed on the sweelee website already "discounted"? As they have a cancelled U.P. and another discount price on the top.

I'm not sure if it's set in stone, but it'll help if you talk to the right people in Sweelee if you're making a purchase. Ya know, there are variations... 8)

avoid the Marshall MS-2/ 4 if you are relying on it if this is your first electric. i bought them for momento's sake, yes they are pleasant but they can't match an actual plug-in amp for sure.

the Roland CUBE 15 is highly recommended for starters.

Hmm

Don't needa worri, Swee Lee all year round 20% discount. I wanted to get the RG321. UP is $600 den i ask if got discount, den they say 20%.

So I onli hafta pay $480 liddat. But of cuz I din buy la.

subversion said: