Are PRS guitars any good?

xklusivly4u

As the title says, are PRS USA guitars any good? They seem to be more costly than other brands. Are they versatile and suitable for beginners? How does it compare to others like Fender, Gibson etc?. Any thoughts or experience to share?

Last edited:
Ferrari term is apt... Some players seem to concur. More expensive than other brands? Which other brands?

Gibson?
Fender?

Yes. PRS Guitars are very good and are highly recommended.

They are not like buying a Ferrari as a first car unless you are a complete beginner who happens to have a Private Stock model (this doesn't happen round here much I imagine). They have a range of guitars to suit many diiferent levels of buyer from plain looking ones that can do just as good a job as the ones that look (and are) much more expensive.

Comparing feature for feature I'd say they were better value than a Gibson. Think about a Les Paul with custom options such as curly tops or any fancy appointments and these soon get more pricey than the PRS equivalent, with a much lower standard of build quality.

Well, what can I say. PRS is hard to fault. Awesome stuff, a real sight to behold with the price to match. I read somewhere that they only make limited amounts each year, so that might contribute to the price-tag.

I have played a Custom 22 and a 24. Never owned one, but have spent some time with them. They really are world-class crafted guitars; with almost flawless and amazingly precise details - inlays, hardware, paintwork, etc. Not forgetting the overall workmanship and the quality of the wood, etc.