ALL things regarding GUITAR, PICKUP, STRINGS

Lifehouse

The Guitar 101 Thread (2010 Edition)

Hi all, especially for starters. This will be a thread to talk about buying guitar for those with a limited budget and some general explainations on the electric guitar. I'm no expert, so kindly take everything with a pinch of salt. I will update this thread as much as I can. So PM me anything you think we could add here.

Headstock - A normal electric guitar will hold 6 tuner pegs either 6 in a line (seen on a Strat or Tele style guitar) or 3 + 3 (3 tuners on each side, like what you'll see on a Les Paul or SG or PRS). There are other variants, such as (4 + 2 on a Musicman guitar).

Tuning Machines - Also known as tuning head, they are basically gears that help to bring your individual strings to accurate pitch. Tighten the tuner will raise the pitch, loosening will lower the pitch. Popular gear ratios are 12:1, 14:1, 16:1, 18:1 and 20:1 though more precise models are also available. There also locking models that will lock the strings prevent it from slipping and hence going out of tune. These are very effective for fixed bridge guitars. Popular brands include Sperzels, Grovers, Schallers, Gotoh.

Nut - The nut is located at the top of the fretboard. For a 6 string guitar, it will have 6 groove to sit the strings and allow the individual strings to pass through from the bridge to the tuning peg. Nut can be composed of the following materials, bone, plastic, ebony, graphite (TUSQ) or metal alloy. The different materials will result in a difference in tone, such as an increase or decrease in bass and/or mid and/or treble.