50 watter head room

mercuriel

Hey guys, not sure if this has been asked before but can't seem to find the threads. Anyway, how much do you expect to crank a 50w tube head and cab to get that sweet distortion? I suppose a 50w doesn't differ much in terms of volume to it's big brother 100w. But I kinda expect to hear the break up early. But question is how early, and at what level? It's rather subjective seeing there are countless amp models and their amp characteristics. Just say what works for you. Do share your gain, level and master settings for that high gain monster tone on yours.

I have no experience in cranking a 100 watter but when I had my THD Flexi-50 it's just painfully loud before it breaks up. From what I read, given the specs(tubes, etc.) are the same, a 50 watter will break up on the 80% of a 100 watters break-up point. A lot of players also prefer 50w(e.g. Malmsteen, Morello) over 100w because of their more spongy feel compared in contrast to the 100w's tendency to feel stiff.

i think in singapore housing 50 watter is about the just right watt to use at home, im using a 50watt jcm2000 too but i rarely goes over 11'o clock for my volume, for 100 watt i think it'll sounds much louder but im not sure

Actually there's no difference between 50w and a 100w on volume, they're pretty much at the same level. I think the only difference is the headroom, as you need to crank more on a 100w in order to get the tube saturated, which probably why it has to get louder? A 50w can be cranked at lower level than 100w, but by how much? So it's interesting to know what gain, level and master, does our fellow 50w owner crank theirs. I heard some people cranked as much as 1 o'clock before the tube breaks up.

I assume you meant setting the master at 11 for your JCM? I imagine that is rather loud already. But did you actually get the tube distortion that you like? What's your gain and level at that point?