which telecaster?

NoiZe

which telecaster will be more worth?

fender tl-43 jap tele
fender stand tele ( where this is made? )
fender highway1 tele ( where this is made? )

which got got better sound?better quality? yeah i know highway is 22 fret, whereas the rest is 21. hmm . . . hard choices huh?

woo~ tele thread. me like.

anyway, the standard if i'm not wrong is MIM? alder body, but at one point the standards uses poplar body.

Highway 1 series are american made?

The jap tl43 features a basswood body.

the best way to decide? try em and let ur ears decide lor.

LEMONed_Z said:
woo~ tele thread. me like.

anyway, the standard if i'm not wrong is MIM? alder body, but at one point the standards uses poplar body.

Highway 1 series are american made?

The jap tl43 features a basswood body.

the best way to decide? try em and let ur ears decide lor.

yeah i actually got no peference about where it was made, but i heard the sound can be different? as for tl43 i cant try out :( sold out on luthers, coming on this dec.

if the TL43 is made of basswood, avoid it unless u want a sound that deviates away from the vintage tele tone.

i would go for the H1 if given these 3 choices.

other than that, i might also consider the mex 50s, 60s, 70s reissues, but only after much testing, as i haven't really tried the neck profiles to judge which i would prefer.

actually for 1.3k budget can consider

TL62-65US CIJ tele
tl6265us.jpg

Alder body and pickups are vintage US type.

i'd go with a CIJ '62-'65 reissue with my eyes closed, open, half opened, whatever :D coz i own one XD they are wonderfully made, attention to detail, imho, is impeccable, and the ash tray style 2strings per saddle design is very suited to my taste. haha, and its within ur price range too. i got mine from luther, back when he was at ginza, for around 1k.

Fruitwine said:
i'd go with a CIJ '62-'65 reissue with my eyes closed, open, half opened, whatever :D coz i own one XD they are wonderfully made, attention to detail, imho, is impeccable, and the ash tray style 2strings per saddle design is very suited to my taste. haha, and its within ur price range too. i got mine from luther, back when he was at ginza, for around 1k.

lol i dun really liek those bridges :lol: oh man seems tat tl-32 is out, yeah i felt kinda weird when i saw it was made out of bass wood actually. anyway can i ask something, the maple fretboard on telecaster stand and highway, are those maple finished? i heard tat if its unfinish, it will get those brownish stains. i wanna get a guitar tat can last me at least 5 years down the road, hmm. also if i order the guitar online from sweelee, will they send me a brand new one, or they will simply get the display set and send it? kinda dun like display set

NoiZe said:
which telecaster will be more worth?

fender tl-43 jap tele
fender stand tele ( where this is made? )
fender highway1 tele ( where this is made? )

which got got better sound?better quality? yeah i know highway is 22 fret, whereas the rest is 21. hmm . . . hard choices huh?

I owned highway1. Sweet tele. Default pickup is already very nice pickup.
But the satin finished might be turn off for some people.

NoiZe said:
lol i dun really liek those bridges :lol: oh man seems tat tl-32 is out, yeah i felt kinda weird when i saw it was made out of bass wood actually. anyway can i ask something, the maple fretboard on telecaster stand and highway, are those maple finished? i heard tat if its unfinish, it will get those brownish stains. i wanna get a guitar tat can last me at least 5 years down the road, hmm. also if i order the guitar online from sweelee, will they send me a brand new one, or they will simply get the display set and send it? kinda dun like display set

it would be strange for you to order online off sweelee if you're intending to receive your guitar here. while model specifications does matter, there is one large factor to choosing a guitar - trying out the guitar yourself on the spot. A display set could end up to be better for you than one brought from the back of the store.

in short, test the guitar if you can have the chance. Of course, probably getting the Jap Fenders (you can get them off other places other than Sweelee as well) means you can't really test before you buy, so it'll just depend on your luck.

:( satain finish is very thin right? heard tat the finish will be gone in no time :( looks like i will have a tough decision

yes.

well it depends which side u are from.

personally, i wouldn't mind the finish wearing out at all! :) makes it look vintage and used. and the top priority for me is playability and tone, although i still have a dislike for pure black guitars (too boring man... everyone's doing it.)

dude, IMHO if you have 1.2K to burn, why not go for the CIJ 62 or 52 RI teles? Order direct from ishibashi... maybe a touch out of your budget but just tahan a bit, eat grass for a few more weeks (hehe). Definitely a few notches up from the mex tele or the Highway 1. Plus the CIJ RI teles with maple f/boards (meippuru frettoboard, haha) have got some massive lacquer action going on... great for those of us who like lacquered f/boards. CIJ is definitely the way to go if the other options are mex fenders or budget US.

milkmesto said:
dude, IMHO if you have 1.2K to burn, why not go for the CIJ 62 or 52 RI teles? Order direct from ishibashi... maybe a touch out of your budget but just tahan a bit, eat grass for a few more weeks (hehe). Definitely a few notches up from the mex tele or the Highway 1. Plus the CIJ RI teles with maple f/boards (meippuru frettoboard, haha) have got some massive lacquer action going on... great for those of us who like lacquered f/boards. CIJ is definitely the way to go if the other options are mex fenders or budget US.

yeah ishibashi got great gutiar, but i need to use credit cards right? i guess its think for me to apply debate ones. will it be cheaper to order direct from ishibashi?

honestly, i don't know. it SHOULD add up to a tad little less than what luther offers, but that's because you cut out additional middleman costs. but bear in mind you also lose the excellent luther warranty, plus the excellent setup - i got my CIJ 62RI almost-new condition from someone who bought from luther, the setup was perfect and i didnt need to tweak anything at all, which is pretty rare cos i normally find myself redoing the setup and intonation of the 2nd hand guitars i get.