Whats your musical approach when soloing?

3notesAbar

I posted here because the How to Guitar thread might make it seem like i'm only talking to the guitarists or stringed instruments people.

From long ago, I heard some people say things like Chordal approach or Melodic approach etc. Then some people came up with names like Linear approach and Emotional approach. Wah....

Whats the first thing that comes to your mind when you are 3 bars away from your solo spot? :D

Personally i think of whether i can play slowly or not haha. What about you?

ha..i'm a guitarist..hope it counts..for me..i'll be thinking whether to play in some of my cliched pentatonic licks or play in modes, which will be much more exciting..then i'll think of phrasing..agonising bend? or quick runs? haha so much to think about..best just let loose..

3notesAbar said:
Whats the first thing that comes to your mind when you are 3 bars away from your solo spot? :D
Personally i think of whether i can play slowly or not haha. What about you?

i will be freezing. lol. i am hopeless in improvising!

i would use the emotional approach....

when u're playing a sad song , juz imagine u're one really really sad person and soon ideas will start running thru ur mind and who knows , u could be getting ideas and playing ur instrument at the same time... :lol:

Yeah. But as a bassist i'm kinda shallow leh. I just play the four notes i know in selected SCALES and hope it sounds like a solo!

try playing the 4 notes u know from selected SCALES of different octaves apart....

this gives u more choice of sounds....

pooo said:
DoubleBlade said:
dhalif said:
I JUST WHACK!

actually another term for emotional approach would be JUST WHACK LAH!!!!!!! :p

LOL i do that to. So long as its along with the key, then it's alright :wink:

hahaha...when you are musical, you whack, your listeners can still enjoy.
but when you are not musical... :oops: you wouldn't want to torture them too much eh? :cry: