starting electric guitar

cgmx2

hi, i started learning guitar few weeks back on my own and managed 2 play few songs. i m currently using acoustic guitar. i wanted to buy electric guitar, but i heard that u would need amplifier etc.

can any1 tell mi wad else do i need beside amplifier. i saw pple in jamming studios having some pedal tings, do i need them. can some1 tell mi wads the function of all this and basically wad do i need 2 buy besides the e guitar

sorry, i juz started guitar so all this terms may seem chim 2 mi

When you plug your electric guitar into the amplifier, clean sound. Like your acoustic sounding stuffs but not as natural. No chugs chugs like blink 182 or those rock bands you hear.

Pedals are the one that make you rock. Distortions, wah effects, basically pedals = effects. Effects to let you sound cool and not just cheng cheng C chord.

You need cables, guitar stand (optional). If you have pedals, more cables. You will know why when you have your 1st pedal.

Picks? Unless you play with fingers! Hmm, guitar bag? Most prolly 20 bucks?

If you wanna take good care of your guitar, and i recommend, spend like 20 to 30 to get those accessories to take care of it. String cleaner, guitar polisher, fret cleaner bla bla bla list goes on. I recommend you the jimdunlop GUITAR FINGERBOARD KIT. (optional :) )

Ok what did i miss?

Pedals, in my opinion, are rather redundant if you are just beginning to play. Just stick to the onboard distortion can ready. Prices vary for each pedal, some as cheap as $60+ or maybe even $30+ to $500 or even more. Or, you could invest in a multi-fx pedalboard later on.

I myself have a few pedals, but after playing for awhile I kinda prefer a crybaby just to add a little flavour to the solos(but of course not too much, coughcoughkirkhammettcoughcough).

Or no pedals at all.

boone said:
Pedals, in my opinion, are rather redundant if you are just beginning to play. Just stick to the onboard distortion can ready.