Snare Drum Talk

Tama has moved production to CHINA right?? i dunno bout their production and shit but most of their stuff are MADE IN CHINA...

pearl is in taiwan R.O.C... maybe got up quality abit.. haha

Marc actually it doesn't really matter if Tama has moved production to CHINA or not - as long as they maintain Quality Control.

Pearl will indefinetely move all it's production to China too.....however Pearl is reknown for it's Quality Control.....doesn't matter.
I believe a Master Custom, Pearl Master even Reference is or will be made in China.

Yamaha still has it's high end drums made in Japan, but all hardwares are made in Indonesia...but luckily it's shell not made in Indonesia...hahahaha.

But u know lah the stereotype of stuff being made in china.. Cheap labour and all that stuff... oh well, in 50 years time will there be enough tree's to sustain oxygen in the air?? later all the trees kena chop down for furniture/drums/coal and all that...

but now the situation quite bad already lah for deforestation... a 5 piece set at least requires 2 full grown tree.. i saw how they made drums from GROVE company one at discovery channel...

abit hard pain lah to see the trees kena chop2.. soon all drums are made by acrylics. haha

Acrylics are really nice to own and they are loud and warm too (I don't think they are any inferior to Maple where Sound is concern) - If I have the money (they are not very cheap too) I like to buy a Transparent one (no colour) one too.

RD, I'm not sure about local sources.

I was referring to ordering in yourself. Cheap or not, depends lah, I assumed that $300-$400 is considered cheap to you :lol:

Examples:

429772.jpg

US$199 @ MS
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...re-Drum-with-Black-Powder-Hardware?sku=447811

That's about S$300 + (S$50 to S$80 for shipping)...

PDP SX series also go for the same price

756719.jpg

wow i'm really kinda curious to hear it.
i tried a ocdp snare tht had 2 acrylic pieces sandwiching a soldi maple center sorta like the edge. mannnnnnn it sounded hugeeeeeeee.
okie i thought ocdp was just hyped up, but shit their gd man. i tried the travis barker kit. thts one of the best bass drums i've played. it was a 20 by 18 i think. the snare was a 13by 6 i think.

Weckl - the whole 5pcs Kit - abt how much is it?......thks

Bro blurr : when you come back here for good - you bring back your Brady drums (did I spell correctly here) hahaha - make in Australia but good drums

Weckl - the whole 5pcs Kit - abt how much is it?......thks

Whoah, talking about full kit then it's not cheap. When it comes to PP acrylic kits, I've only seen 4pc on Indoor Storm so far. I suppose you could order an additional pc from PP.

dpp225.jpg

http://www.indoorstorm.com/Pork_Pie_Percussion_4pc_Acrylic_Drum_Set_Clear-p-3733.html

This for US$2375, approx S$3500.

The 5pc Ludwig Vistalite goes for slightly more @ US$2556.

L9125LM.jpg

http://www.drumcentral.com/drum_sets_11.htm

Let's see how much it'd cost if you tried to DIY using the rough specs of the PP kit.

http://www.precisiondrum.com/html/body_acrylic.html

Shells - $1100 (with bearing edges + lug holes drilled)
68 lugs @ US$5 each - $340
48 tension rods - $24
BD claws - $46
BD spurs - $35
BD rods - $15
Hoops - $170
Tom ISO mount - $30
FT bracket + legs - $40
Drum heads - $100ish

Comes up to US$1900 still :)

why on earth is plastic more expensive than wood, isnt acrylic more prone to being damaged/ scratched?

is there a technology that makes this so special?

hey rd - i dun have a brady snare, they are sooooo over priced. the snare is see is by metro drums. owned by paul warry. check his site out on my space/metrodrums

isnt acrylic more prone to being damaged/ scratched?

That really depends. If you look at it, acrylic shells are the only shells which won't be affected by moisture or humidity. Wood shells might peel, metal shells might tarnish or rush. Wood/metal can scratch pretty easily also.

why on earth is plastic more expensive than wood

This part of the question, I'll leave to the Zickos FAQ to answer. FYI, Zickos were the guys who invented acrylic drums.

Q: Do acrylic shells cost more than wood shells?

A: Yes they do. Acrylic is a more expensive material than wood. Since wood shells are made of several plies of wood (technically speaking, that's plywood), we'll use plywood as a comparison. Go down to your local building supply and you'll find that 1/4" sheet of plywood is about $12, even really expensive veneered plywood is usually less than $50. Now get a price on the the same size sheet in 1/4" (6 mm) high grade cast acrylic, and you'll find it's well over $100 and often as much as $180.

http://www.zickosdrums.com/faq.htm#first

These transparent kit looks nice (but not so nice not under lightings)..Remember the Kit Jona used in the Drum Challenge - the Sonor on the stage at DrumFest....it;s so beautiful under lightings...really.

I think extra care has to be taken on this kind of kits...especially polishing (I think cannot lah wait scratch them heart pain pain)....but I would love to own one..wah it's not cheap really....Aiyah headache lah - they are nice to have.

Bro blurr - the 1strime I saw and heard a Brady's 13" snare is at Cockrail party for the DrumFest Drummer this month - it's beautiful and sounded so nice ..its a great drum I guess.

Now that's going for broke! :lol: Designed by Mr. Thomas Lang - The only seamless extruded acrylic shells available on the market now.

I wonder if the DrumFest comm have arranged for him to use his kit when he's here for his clinic.