Say "no| to pay to play gigs! Sign up with soft & be a part of the revolution!

WOULD YOUR BAND EVER PAY TO PLAY OR PAY TO AUDITION

• No I DON'T believe in having to pay to play or pay to audition

Votes: 9 90.0%
  • yes I dont mind paying money to play in a gig

Votes: 1 10.0%

• Total voters
Hello Trippy...

Definaton: When bands have to PAY $$$$$ to perform for a particular event ... OR sell tickets to their friends etc to meet the organizer's criteria to perform.

As what some of you may be aware, SOFT has set its Band Collective, a movement in which aspiring bands, regardless of their levels, ability, expirience or genre of music will be given a chance to perform. The team which includes Mr Soft himself and many veterans of the industry strive to give one & all the opportunity to perform without paying or having to sell tickets etc...

Thus far we had the 1st SBC band gathering at chocolate bar in which 23 bands of all generes (Rock, pop, retro, indie, j Rock, J pop, metal, alternative, etc) performed. It was also a chance for musicians and their supporters from the various genres to meet, mingle and appreciate each other's craft.

The organising commitee intends to make this a monthly event if possible .... the only criterias are that bands must be softies - by simply signing up as part of SBC and perform at the events when available. There are no signing or registration fees, no performance fees, no fees to be paid to any members etc ....

The only thing that we would encourage bands to do is to purchase drinks from the establishments where we hold the events ....
In fact, maybe if we hold it in an open area next time ... (e.g scape park, etc) we could set up a seperate committee for selling drinks / kopi O / karipup ... to the crowd .. no pay to pay but pay to eat /drink

As for bands (or organizers) who continue with their pay to play movement ... it's their own personal choice ... BUT we want them to know & remember that there's a alternative to pay to play gigs and bands who join us and are patient enough will get their chance to perform.

13th November 2010 – “ Carnival Of Chaos “ ( by RMS ) – Chocolate Bar –5PM onwards:-

RMSposterOct13th.jpg

SBCS Members – if you wanna come and join in the FUN and Socialise again in November - with our Phillipino Brothers/Musicians in Singapore --- I will see you all there – Let’s all just have some Beers, TCSS or whatever - - MEET MORE SOFTIES …more Metal-Head this round

RMS which stands for “ Retribution Movement Singapore “ – is akin to Soft “Bands Collective Singapore “ Objective in every way –

“ WE SAY NO TO PAY TO PLAY GIGS “

and is indeed also –

A PART of - “ Soft Music Forum Social Group “ ( in which I am a Committee Member here) .

See you Guys ! on the 13th November 2010.

You will love it ! Come Joint Us !

This is the Link: -
http://www.soft.com.sg/forum/gigs-co...ml#post1097518

WOOTS FOR OUR KAPATHID BROS & SIS .... GOOD ON U RUDI DRUMMER FOR KEEPING THIS MOVEMENT ALIVE ...

LETS ALSO NOT FORGET TO SUPPORT OUR COMMITEE MEMBER .. BRO FAZ (TETRAGRAMATTON) WHO IS NOW BEING PAID TO PLAY AT PADI"S BAR AT TANGLIN SHOPPING CTR BASEMENT .. EVERY TUES / WED & SAT

As for bands (or organizers) who continue with their pay to play movement ... it's their own personal choice ... BUT we want them to know & remember that there's a alternative to pay to play gigs and bands who join us and are patient enough will get their chance to perform.

In this aspect, the talents are have recruited are giving time and forking out their own money - in order to have fun and exposure on stage. Eventually, hopefully, they may be able to "take" something back from the community in order to fuel their passion.

But such giving and taking will only give the "maybe" and no concrete result for all the hard work.

Don't you SBC / RMS folks wish to be paid eventually for all your hardwork and passion for music? Then you can use those money to invest in more jam session time or maybe even upgrade your gears and equipment?

I admire you patience and passion and for the love of music. BUT I find such a pity that all these precious time, potential talent are most importantly youth are wasted along the way.

Trippy Factory is against non-pay-to-play gigs (if there is even such a defination), but to each it's own. We can only wish you all the best.

ai yah give us time .. I'm only 25, Tetra is 24 .... Rudimental is 26 ... we are still young and learning the way s of the industry

yeah bro SBC / RMS wishes you all the best for your movement's endevours too .. .. to each their own is right .... break em legs

ai yah give us time .. I'm only 25, Tetra is 24 .... Rudimental is 26 ... we are still young and learning the way s of the industry

You are at the PRIME TIME OF YOUR AGE! You should be out there forming a super young talented band and send your demo to Universal / EMI / SONY BMG or whatever...Paul Gilbert started young...

How many 25, 24, 26 years old have you got? You'll be 45, balding, married with kids and no time for guitar in a blink of an eye.

Sir Paul McCartney once said, "That a man must break his back to earn His day of leisure? Will she still believe it when he's dead?"

You don't have to go through tough times to learn the way of the industry. Learn it from past mistakes from others so that you won't have to go through it yourself.

I wish I was 25, 24, 26 and had a good band. But on the other hand, thank goodness I am not that young anymore.

You are right though, to each it's own. You go break'em legs too. All the best.

You are at the PRIME TIME OF YOUR AGE! You should be out there forming a super young talented band and send your demo to Universal / EMI / SONY BMG or whatever...Paul Gilbert started young...

yes me, Tetra and wldeboon have formed a super young talented band called Ghee 3 ... which will hopefully make it sebut at SBC band meet up 2 ...

Ingrained dffirences aside, maybe you shud one day check our act out and we cud attend one of your gig?

yes me, Tetra and wldeboon have formed a super young talented band called Ghee 3 ... which will hopefully make it sebut at SBC band meet up 2 ...

Ingrained dffirences aside, maybe you shud one day check our act out and we cud attend one of your gig?

Super Young Talented or what! Woah. That's confident. :)

Yes, it would be an honour for me if you can attend our shows. The details will be announce very shortly.

Is Ghee 3 part of the Carnival Of Chaos bill?

In this aspect, the talents are have recruited are giving time and forking out their own money - in order to have fun and exposure on stage. Eventually, hopefully, they may be able to "take" something back from the community in order to fuel their passion.

But such giving and taking will only give the "maybe" and no concrete result for all the hard work.

Don't you SBC / RMS folks wish to be paid eventually for all your hardwork and passion for music? Then you can use those money to invest in more jam session time or maybe even upgrade your gears and equipment?

I admire you patience and passion and for the love of music. BUT I find such a pity that all these precious time, potential talent are most importantly youth are wasted along the way.

Trippy Factory is against non-pay-to-play gigs (if there is even such a defination), but to each it's own. We can only wish you all the best.

I see your concern about monies being spend on individuals. In our passion for music, we will all spend some to upgrade our effects whether we are just any hobby bands or making a living out of it. The purpose of this meet up or non paying gig is to create a platform for younger bands to showcase themselves. Get that confident to play in front of crowds. People who will be there can just be another youngsters or season players too. That's where some recruitment is possible.

From the way you are saying, you must be some season player in the industry. The more you should be in this event. Talented people should be selected to be in the right place. We are a bunch of both season and hobby musicians who came together to do this not wanting to earn any money. We are all working in the day and some of us still play in the night regularly for some cash. It is easy to create an event where bands has to sell tickets(THAT'S PAY TO PLAY) and we as organizer will earn from part of it. So that is not our call. When tickets are not sold, the bands have to fork out their own money otherwise NO PLAY. No one has to pay to showcase their talents. But those organizers will still have their market of people. We already have sponsors for equipment and some venues. We are not paying for it too and that's the beauty of it when we are all working for a right cause.

Selected bands will have their fair share of avenues when we bring in some agents to have a look on them without knowing it. We don't have to dream on to be sign-up by some recording labels. That's a totally different ball game.

Tetragrammaton

Actually I would like to quote a quote. I saw this on somebody's signature recently and i agree with it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." - Aesop, The Lion and the Mouse
http://www.trippyfactory.com/
What do you think?

Precisely bro Madwerewolfboy! One shall not carry a quote when one doesn't believe in one. But wanna carry balls can lah. Hehehe! Eh...don't think the wrong thing ar. Got basketball, football,etc. But lots of ping pong balls. Still I prefer fishball noodles ar. Wah so hungry Liao.

What do I think of this?

"BUT I find such a pity that all these precious time, potential talent are most importantly youth are wasted along the way...No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted"

That's Irony :-)

You don't use the quote when you do or say the opposite of what you're quoting.

P.S ermm I wonder if he/she knows how to use that quotation at all :-P

What do I think of this?

"BUT I find such a pity that all these precious time, potential talent are most importantly youth are wasted along the way...No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted"

That's Irony :-)

You don't use the quote when you do or say the opposite of what you're quoting.

P.S ermm I wonder if he/she knows how to use that quotation at all :-P

Hi Tomomi,

Would you like to further enlighten?

Kindest,
TF

I see your concern about monies being spend on individuals. In our passion for music, we will all spend some to upgrade our effects whether we are just any hobby bands or making a living out of it. The purpose of this meet up or non paying gig is to create a platform for younger bands to showcase themselves. Get that confident to play in front of crowds. People who will be there can just be another youngsters or season players too. That's where some recruitment is possible.

From the way you are saying, you must be some season player in the industry. The more you should be in this event. Talented people should be selected to be in the right place. We are a bunch of both season and hobby musicians who came together to do this not wanting to earn any money. We are all working in the day and some of us still play in the night regularly for some cash. It is easy to create an event where bands has to sell tickets(THAT'S PAY TO PLAY) and we as organizer will earn from part of it. So that is not our call. When tickets are not sold, the bands have to fork out their own money otherwise NO PLAY. No one has to pay to showcase their talents. But those organizers will still have their market of people. We already have sponsors for equipment and some venues. We are not paying for it too and that's the beauty of it when we are all working for a right cause.

Selected bands will have their fair share of avenues when we bring in some agents to have a look on them without knowing it. We don't have to dream on to be sign-up by some recording labels. That's a totally different ball game.

Tetragrammaton

Point noted. It seems that I am voicing out my opinions to a group of hobbyists who wish to remain the way things are.

All is fair if you are all game for "No to pay to play". We just have different point of views, we simply have different opinions and different games to play.

The question is: how much longer do you wish to fork out from your own? Don't you wish things could be a little...easier on your pocket? Ever thought of pushing/sellilng your band a little harder - so that funds could be from other sources than yours?

TF

Precisely bro Madwerewolfboy! One shall not carry a quote when one doesn't believe in one. But wanna carry balls can lah. Hehehe! Eh...don't think the wrong thing ar. Got basketball, football,etc. But lots of ping pong balls. Still I prefer fishball noodles ar. Wah so hungry Liao.

Thanks for being discreet guys.

I am big fan of Aesop and I believe in the that quote strongly.

Maybe it's just a matter of different perspective of what the word "kindness" means.

If kindness means amatuer / young bands having a great time on stage at my expense, that not it. It shows in inconsideration and irresponsibility.

They can play in some other non-TF shows.

Smiles,
TF

aesop is an ancient guy who tells fables. so the quote is just a quote from a fable, apparently it doesn't apply to the real world.