Recording Levels

aaroncheong

Hi, I am a student in republic polytechnic.

Right now we are playing around with recording, and we get to use really cool stuff like millenia preamps, studio tielines--> millenia preamp --> protools.

Somehow, what i have realized is that most of the time, before we get a 'hot' recording level after increasing the gain on the preamp, things get distorted pretty easily.

either that or the recording level is not 'hot' enough, satisfying, but well, comparing it to other sessions that i have seen like Nine inch nails, it pales in comparison.

Kinda new to this man, anyone has any tips?

Thanks!

i like using a compression in my plug in.It does help me in some way...clipping does happen.Not sure whether a compression might help in your case.

what course are you in ?

digressing:woah from rp.i'm from rp too just tat i'm taking a course thats not exactly near my interest which is sound engineering.I didn;t realise there was a course in rp that gave students a chance to go hands on with pro tools..nicenice

haha im in Sonic Arts, STA.

not exactly fantastic facilities for recording, buzzy tielines, air con sounds etc. but yeah, you really learn alot, really cool equipment to play with too. my favourite royer ribbon mics

Have come across a few of these pt sessions

Think they are compressing with hardware comps like (distressors, ssl, alan smart, api) before it hits the converters/comp. If you've done this for years and know what youre doing this is an option but if you are on a learning curve dont. Do it during mix..not the same but at least you wont inflict undoable damage on the audio. Rec 24 bit audio so you dont lose resolution at lower levels.

And I doubt NIN are using cleaner sounding pres like the millenia/ avalon...try neves, ssl, api, daking and even great river. If you got an apogee you can get slightly hotter signals in with the soft clip/limit.