Om Laboratories, Sahasrara Overdrive

Arrggghh.... no discounts at all??? *Sigh*

Ok, ok... the sound clips are convincing enuff. I would probably give in to temptation and get a Sahasrara from one of them shops around Peninsula within these few months. :lol:

heh thanks!

in the same vein.... try asking discounts from Fulltone, Langraff and the rest... :wink:

thanks dan!

new soundclips are up VERY VERY soon as long as i can get to the webmaster and give him a good spanking.

Hmm.

Just got it about a week ago, and I must say it is indeed a very nice, transparent and clear OD pedal. Now I can do Skynyrd, Rolling Stones and SRV with a piece of mind!!!

Hmm.

Just got it about a week ago, and I must say it is indeed a very nice, transparent and clear OD pedal. Now I can do Skynyrd, Rolling Stones and SRV with a piece of mind!!!

Mann, you're giving SRV, Keith Richards and the freebirds a piece of your mind! :p

i hava question as well... can the sahasrara chug heavily as well? (2 gain stages?)
or issit strictly a sweet-spot soft soft od?

how does the sahasrara stack with other pedals? has anyone tried stacking it with something else to get a more intense high-gain sound?

This reply is biased cos I'm the builder... but yes it stacks well ;). Daniel(Electrico) stacked it against my prototype fuzz and it sounded really good. Due to the nature of this overdrive, good notes separation and clarity, it does not mush up when pushed or when pushing another pedal.

It'll all depends on the other pedal used.

Rosli Mansor might be using 2 Sahasrara back to back for that purpose.

i hava question as well... can the sahasrara chug heavily as well? (2 gain stages?)
or issit strictly a sweet-spot soft soft od?

I wouldn't dare claim that it can CHUG... overdrive CHUG I'd say yes. Overdrive CHUG into a slightly overdriven amp, I'd say definitely yes. Metale chug... I'll drink more beer and look away... :mrgreen:

I'll describe the Sahasrara and Clean-Mid-ish High gain overdrive. Not over the top high gain.

soundclips by Brandon aka Nanoshred is up on the site. Go chekkit!

Brandon ah... sorry there's no credits to you on the clips page but I gotta wait for my webmaster to come back from his holidays! Thanks!

edder... hurry leh! i wanted to try ur pedal since like last wk but it aint in stock yet!
grr i'm impatient...

edder... hurry leh! i wanted to try ur pedal since like last wk but it aint in stock yet!
grr i'm impatient...

tomorrow there will be stock at TYMC and Zen's! I'd be there around 630 or thereabouts. See you there if you're gonna be there!

Cheers,

Ed

alright... got this pedal too. met edder himself.
honestly, no one can tell you are a pedal builder... wahahha.. for such a detail explaination of the pedal you gave me, i shall write something back.

this pedal really brings out the characteristics of your guitar.
the gain knob isnt very heavy, from 8-around 11 o clock a difference can be observed in drive intensity, but in the later stages of about 2 oclock plus, its like a slight grit is thrown on top of your guitar's tone, meaning the way your guitar sounds is exactly the same, but with more drive.

prescence knob is extremely useful, but i dont think its easy to use...
when gain is added, the prescence knob brings out clarity and the brightness of the guitar. but on my mahagony-bodied ibanez, it gets warmer. :)
but when gain isnt added, the prescence knob is not obvious. i only heard a slight volume boost and maybe a bit of treble increased.

the tone knob seems to be like the prescence knob, but covers a wider spectrum. usually, that is tweaked first.

wadever it is, when i tested it at the shop it was just, okay, nice od.
but at home after spending time playing and tweaking i realised, though its only those few knobs and one real gain knob, many tones are achievable from this pedal. and all sound great. there's no "BETTER" or "SWEET SPOT" that can be tweaked.
its just MANY NICE TONES, CHOOSE ONE. that left me addicted to playing with it.

also, this makes a FANTASTIC booster. try to believe... all i did was boost my amp's drive.

its not a pedal for starters (like me) who want a nice overdrive, because its pretty reliant on a good guitar. its, somewhat like an RC booster. the greater your guitar sounds, the better this works..
saying this, i have to get a better guitar XD.

lastly, i LIKE the stiff knobs. it just feels good...

thanks for the review keith. glad to meet you and and also glad that you're enjoying the pedal. I've always been pretty proud of the pots that I use for my pedals. They're more costly compared to the regular ones but the "Damped" feel IMHO is worth it.

Don't worry about your guitar lah, its pretty good already for what it is. Just keep rockin out.

and yeah, no one would expect a regular chubby ah beng to make guitar pedals... :mrgreen:

guitar makes a huge diff man. remember the guitar i used at tymc? that mij strat. i can never get that sound again. but now i can get all the warmth i need :)

i see so its the pots, i thought it was just screwed tightly, was worried there will be a circle-scratch mark on the pedals if i kept turning them wahahha...