Need help on choosing guitar and pickups!

mitth

Hey all! Yep, kinda new here. I've been playing the guitar for about 4 months now... I'm now considering buying an Epiphone Les Paul Standard. Do you guys know which places stock this guitar? I know Swee Lee sells but I heard they are made in China, workmanship not good. Also, is it advisable for me to buy 2nd hand? I scared later I get conned, very newbie still. Haha.

And uh, which pickups do you recommend for songs by Led Zeppelin?

Thanks in advance!

Swee Lee does stock Epiphone's from Korea. And the quality of workmanship of the koreans = good. If you're rich go for a brand new one, slap in a pair of Gibson Burstbuckers, and i think you should be ready for some Led Zep. Take note you might not sound like Jimmy Page cos your tone is dependant on the gear you use, eg. amps etc.

I haven't been to Guitar Gallery at parklane for a while, but you might want to check them out, they might have what you're looking for.

If you're getting second hand, get someone who's knows his stuff to help you look out for any flaws in the instrument. Mainly check for neck warps, fret wear, damage to finish/structure.

If you do buy from Swee Lee, ask them to take out a new piece. The ones on display are... :(

Wow, fast reply. Hm, ok will go check it out. Another question, is there any pickup similar to Seymour Duncan APH that can be used for Zep songs. Or is the APH ok for them? Cuz I play a little GnR too. Thanks again!

Both the burstbuckers and APH have alnico 2 magnets. They're pretty similar but i would say go with the APH. It's an overall, smoother sweeter sounding pickup. With the right eq settings on your amp you should be able to go close to the tones of both bands, classic sounding thing. Yup. Hope this helps!

one of the best Epi Les Paul i've played was the Boneyard which came with genuine bursbuckers as default pickups. i did a review of it in Gear News 2004, maybe you can read about it there... 8)

epi_joeperry_g.jpg