landmine distortion

why do people actually bother with high-gain amp-in-a-box ?

just save your pennies and get a mesa boogie combo amp la..

plus, the stage crew is gonna have more work if we wanna plug our cabs into the amps provided. saves them the trouble :P

i think theres a guy selling it now at 219 i think. check the buy/sell forum bro, u can find it there

dey, mesa boogie combo amp how much..

the landmine how much..yea sure u say save up..

but will the amount of money you spent be justified?

besides..its too troublesome to bring your own amps for giggin (if u dun have personal transport)..

nicky: in a certain light..i agree with you..

lets not speak about giggin..

at home..i tweak my mfx till im satisfied with the sound..den im all enthu to jam..

head to the jamming studio..use the patches earlier..

my flaber was gasted..sound totally different..its rather annoying actually.

den my morale goes down..and i screw up solos..and i refuse to play some songs which requires some soloing..or i juz do it clean.. :lol:

so my whole point is..no 2 amps are the same in terms of tonal characteristic..wad sounds nice on your amp may not sound nice on other amps..

Want to work across multiple amps?

Then aim for more... *ahem* eq transparent dirt pedals.

Those at least don't focus on certain eqs so you don't need to get the pedal to compliment the amp or vice versa.

Or.

Get pedals that have powerful eq settings. Like the Boss MT-2. Or even the Skreddy Screwdriver with its pre-gain, brillance and sharpness controls.

Else.

Buy an amp and bring it around lor.

Pedals can always replicate "djung djung djung" - relatively basic simple sound. Pedals = additional tone colours just like having multiple amps.

:lol:

I'm just saying lah, that for "djung djung djung" - you don't need rocket science as compared to "I want extremely expressive tone, dynamics is key but I also want sustain plus I need my Tele to sound like an LP yet retain delicate note seperation" kind of requirements.

Almost every high gained pedals can "djung djung djung". How big you want it to sound, how in-your-face, how earth-shattering-mind-numbingly-all-pets-die djung you want... is a different matter. That one is in your fingers.

with regards to deathism's post
i had a session previously just once, ONCE.. (i may not be totally tone-sensitive)
however i tweaked a few pedals and noted down several settings on my pedalboard (its not really mine) before going to a jamming studio too...
upon reaching, though its a different amp, (both solid-states), the sound coming out from the box seemed better... lol. its some peavey but i'm unsure about the amp.. mine's a roland...

maybe cranking up volume does make a difference?
and... to me, lotsa solid-state amps' clean channel dont really sound very far from each other..

just my 1cent..