How to record guitar for a school project

bluelime

Hi i am very new to the world of programming. and i had to do a guitar recording for a school project.
Gear i have is a vox ad15vt xl, strat guitar cables. and his plus which i can plug in my guitar into and has this small 3.5mm (i guess) plug at the other end. is there anyway i can make use of this for the recording ? and if i have to do a video, wad shld i do?
I dun quite get the idea of all the gears. @.@ blur crap. pherhaps i'm just dumb :x
HAHAHA
But i heard from a classmate tht i shld at least get them miced. i also have a acer laptop which i just got this year.
Please help me out i got till the end of this week..

bless you , dumb/stupidity and inconfidence is a disease that is self inflicted.

before you consider getting them miked, check out how they sound without being miked first if budget is an issue

http://tinyurl.com/diyrecording

guitar > vox amp > headphone / output of some sorts > your acer laptop > if youre using windows start,run,sndvol32.exe configure the inputs and use a free software like audacity to record

gd luck!

Yes James i am doing a solo project.
Hi Ron, i'm not familiar with mics to get.
So much varieties such as usb/non- usb. brands to consider. but since small budget. will something like tone pod help ?
Lets say budget of $200-$300 includes future usage also.
Without them miked, really very bad audio quality. when i used my camera. not video cam. digital ones. but video was okay. i will try using ur method first and hear it. Thanks.

Feel free to post more alternatives
:)

Yeah on a budget you really don't need to get everything mic'd up. Try to get headphone out to your laptop, which should have a 3.5mm input (red colour 3.5mm jack on laptops for mic, green colour for headphone). Can headphone out from amp or some pedals that support (usually multi efx have).