How to get metallica 's tone ?

gaoxian

Eh , just asking around . i find their tone nice , songs like purify , sounds very nice , what pedals ? cabs and stuff ? advice thanks ;D noob here . heheh .:-D

theres a comphrehensive list of the tones of metallica songs just by searching google, most crop up in the ultimate-guitar forum

myriad of factors.

but for general tips (i'm rather generalising here), scoop the mid.

but in black album, their producer in fact added a bit of mid, which turned out to be good!

myriad of factors.

but for general tips (i'm rather generalising here), scoop the mid.

but in black album, their producer in fact added a bit of mid, which turned out to be good!

yup the tone on black album is the shit! great sound. but iam not sure about the saintshitty album.. shitty sound, not good at all man.

why is it getting more common for pple to start asking how to get the tone of their fav bands and stuff? its damn easy, google the amps, cabs, speakers, rackgear, cables, pedals, strings and guitars they use and buy them. then stay at home and learn to play like them.

and if a single pedal could give u that kinda tone, then metallica would be dumbasses to have spent so much when their rig sound can be duplicated by some sub 1k lump of resistors and switches.

Get a high-gain distortion pedal with 3-band E.Q., test it out and see if it sounds like Metallica. Basically, decrease the mids a little ('scooping') since Metallica uses a scooped Mesa Boogie sound. Don't set the mids too low either otherwise you'll get a death metal tone instead. Don't use too much distortion, dial in enough for the chugga chugga but don't go beyond that. That's generally how to get something very similar to Metallica's clear and scooped tone.

You can't get their exact tone unless you get the exact recording equipment, the exact guitars, amplifiers, etc. But you can get something very similar. It just requires a bit of experimentation and tweaking.

Speaking of Metallica, a bit off topic, I went and see Metallica concert last week, they changed three rack full of guitars and they all sound the same (well almost). Of course difference is noticeable between James and Kirk as they use different amps. But you can’t really notice when they swap between Gibsons and ESPs.

Do guitar’s wood and pickups matter when the signal is heavily processed in live environment?

Agreed. Metallica's tone is highly-processed, not like the simpler, more direct rigs that many local musicians stick to. Nothing against having racks and racks of processors and pedals and all those funny gadgets, but Metallica gets its tone from a lot of in-betweens, so you'll be hard-pressed to get the exact same rig. They have the mullah...

For something similar, it's really all in the equalizer settings. How you set your bass, mids, treble, etc. If you ask me, why copy their tone? Why not get your own tone? :mrgreen: That way, it is truly 'yours'.

You probably cant get the exact same sound with pedals. The easiest way to get kirk's sound is by buying his signature randall amp and cab rm100kh.
Or if you just want their beefy chug sound get a mesa boogie rectifier. Do note they cost a bomb 2-3k for the mesa boogie head alone. Alternatively scoop down your mids and add in a american flavoured distortion pedal.

but sadly they(metallica and other BIG names) spend 100 times the money on their rigs but dont get 100 times the tone of we(normal people) have. lets say "hey i wanna a chuggier metal sound but i have a roland cube 15 n an LTD guitar only worth total $500. ok then i'll buy a mesa boogie amp, ESP guitar worth total $5000." ten times the price. ten times the tone? hmmm

MY OPINION.

ok to answer TS: get all their gears n soundman n fingers or cheap good alternative: amp with decent cleans, decent high-output-pickup equipped guitar and pedal: beta aivin hm200.

am very very very impressed with the level of knowledge regarding metallica's gear among the people, hahah.

or is it just me who's ignorant..

so you think youre better?
huh mr.sia sia sia sia sia sia sia?
seriously you can do better songs?
Saint anger is a good album..yeah i think you should name your OWN shitty album saint shitty..
oh i dun think you even have your own songs

first few posts and speaking like such a jerk.
and if you cant take criticism then grow up.
its common knowledge that saint anger is one of the worst metallica albums.
retard.

Saint anger is a good album..yeah i think you should name your OWN shitty album saint shitty..

saint anger is a shit album sia. and saint shitty? GOOD ONE.

hallo brader, relek lah. u love metallica so much and so do i. we all have our own opinions. why get so worked up. St anger good album? U sure or not? maybe u didn't really listen to their old stuff i guess. I memorise and can play most of metallica and i am not even bragging, hhehe! Btw, u go into this website and see what we can do oraite... www.myspace.com/thyfallenkingdom
peace out!