Home Recording VS Studio Recording

alongday

hey all, i know i'll be posting a lame thread if i would ask which of the above would be more favourable.

rather, i have a question, should I stay home and settle for a cool edit pro program and

having to build a simple home recording system (for an acoustic setup) would probably need your mic and mixer yea? which adds up to about $500 per say?

OR

I can get a simple USB mic that cost at most $200.

OR

should I just head down for a studio recording?

I have to admit, i'm not too good with mixing, but simple recording i've done for years. now i've an acoustic duo ready for recording but i'm not too sure if i should purchase the home recording stuffs and just do it home or do a studio recording.

the question is, which would be more financially smart?

Matt

Home studio i guess.get a condensor mic,pop filter.. mixer i think no need.. then use adobe audition of stuff,to get rid background noise and edit till studio quality.. think can be compared with studio recording just that studio recording uses mixer and the room totally have no noise one.

1) http://tinyurl.com/diyrecording - you don't exactly need a "mixer".
2) After a bro to bro talk with your wallet, you must ask yourself what do you aim to achieve from this recording? how well do you want to present yourself or is it just about getting the songs recorded down and letting ppl hear more music than recording. (take note if the recording/mixing is poor, consumers have low threshold for local musicians)
3) If your budget is $200, Line6 Toneport UX1 + a dynamic mic would probably be more financially friendly.
4) if your budget is $500, do consider the highly rated Zoom H4n.
5) If you head down to the studio, please do your research @ http://tinyurl.com/recordingstudios , and understand that Recording / Mixing & Mastering maybe charged seperately and amount to a few hundred for a song.