Help on buying a keyboard!

DimoChan

I've recently started learning piano and therefore, I would like to buy a keyboard for home practice.

I was thinking of getting something like my school's one. Its a digital keyboard connected to a computer and it uses the programme Cubase to play.

However, I would like to state that Im new to piano and even newer to digital keyboards.

Therefore, I would like to ask you what you would suggest for me.
The keyboard doesnt need to have those all-time-cool features. I just need it for practice at home :)

Please state the name/model of the keyboard, brand and where I can find it eg. name of shops. Because I really dont have a clue on them.

I forgot to add that I have a budget of $1000 only. Yeah so.. cheap and good ones? :D
All help is appreciated :D Thanks !

EDIT :
I just told my mum that the P85 at the authorised dealer would be about 700 - 850 instead of the 900 one at the official yamaha website and she said it would be ok ! Should be going down to the showroom this Saturday. Shall let you guys know if Im successful or not :D

Last edited:
Hi Dimo,

Well, since you are learning piano now, I would recommend getting a keyboard with Hammer-Action keys, meaning it emulates the real piano keys... Standard keyboards would do too, but they don't have that piano feel. Either way, I'd recommend starting with keyboards with lesser features. IMHO, those advanced ones may be overkill, though others may disagree.

Thanks for the help guys, I thought no one would reply lol T_T

And at Snikrs, hmm I'll consider those.
How much do they roughly cost? O_O

EDIT : @ above, I didnt have the slightest clue on what the thread was talking about 8_8

If you are learning to play the piano, you should get a piano. A 2nd-hand piano would do. Any other keyboards will never give you the touch of a real piano.