First Electric Guitar

zulawesome

Hi guys. I need some help here.
I've been learning the guitar for about 2 years now on my classical guitar and I feel I should get an electric guitar.
My friend gave me a new Kustom KGA10 Amp so I'm want to know what guitar should I get if I were to use that amp.
I don't want to over stress my budget so I try not to go above $200.

Any recommendations? I want to play some rock songs from Muse or Paramore and also some metal songs from Nightwish, Metallica, Iron Maiden etc. Maybe a bit of ACDC or Judas Priest but more on metal.

P.S.
I only know guitar techniques so I don't know squat about electric guitar all that so do you mind being specific? The brands, models, place to get and maybe some effects or pedals.

I saw a guitar shop at Simei under the MRT. Is it wise to get it from there or should I go other place because that place is kinda small and have a small selection. I think most are Washburn guitars.

Thanks for the help!
I'll appreciate any tips.

look at the buy/sell section and look for a 2nd hand beginner guitar.

As for the specs of each guitar, i think this is a simple list for you to look out for.

Shape (LesPaul Strat)
number of frets (22 24 frets)
for your genre make sure the guitar can play distortion adequately. Can ask the person to demo to you.

Go and test until you roughly know what you want. Then look at the 2hand section. Bring a friend to make sure the guitar isn't a dud.

if you have time, visit peninsula and bras basah complex. it would be nice to try out some guitars and get the feel. there are a lot of friendly shops there to help you choose. use that knowledge / experience to check the forums for 2nd hand guitars that may suit your taste. but $200 budget ceiling may limit your choices. you should also consider buying effects - i personally use mfx's since i only play at home.