fellow bassists,i need ur help!

5stringedsoul

i'm a bass newbie, just bought a TGM 5 string a few days back.sadly, i didnt get an amp to go wif it..they offered a Smarvo to go along with the package, but i declined, right now, i'm lookin 4 a good bass amp, budget is below $300, am lookin 4 40watts n above...btw, where can i get Ampeg basses in Singapore?

Ampeg bass amps can be found in Yamaha Music Plaza... I believe they ARE THE HOLY GRAIL OF BASS TONE and would like a Svt head + cabinet myself, but with your budget, it seems unlikely for you to even get their most basic combo amp, the BA112, 50 watts, which retails at 700+. Maybe you could aim for SWR,Vox or Laney instead? Cheaper alternatives.

yea, i agree! AMPEG rules, partly i want it cuz my 2 fav bassists uses it, Victor Wooten n Stefan Lessard..I like VOX, cuz of the design, haven heard it yet, prolly gonna go down n try some of the basses u recommend this coming week, how bout Washburn? wud u recommend it?

Washburn as in the amps? I haven't tested them out myself, but judging from what you have said on your influences, and Washburn's reputation for being hardcore metal etc., I wouldn't say it would fit nicely with you. But hey, try it and if you like it, GET IT! 8)

yea, Sheehan is GOD, i'm not overstating it am i?? i dunno if buyin a 5 stringer was a mistake anot, cuz i'm not familiar with the B string,,onlie played bass 4 5 weeks 4 a competition in sch, hardest bass line was for That Thing You Do, my frens were shocked that i want a 40 watt amp, shud i get one datz lower instead? cuz i juz need an amp 4 home practise n maybe bring arnd 4 gigs in future, if i hav any..btw, since i'm kinda new on da bass, wad shud i play when i go test da amp?

the 5th string is good for future developments but if you are starting out, 4strings would be sufficient.