customer service in yamaha

They are pretty ok for service, but as mentioned above, some of them don really know much about their own products. One thing good though is that u are pretty free to roam around without any of them "hovering" behind u.

Going down the drain... Firstly, most of em lack 50% of what little i know about guitars... and considering the fact that i am a newb... errr...

but maybe they're just specialised in other equipments :lol:

they've no more beez though :twisted:

wonder if hassan is still workin at thomson plaza

actually, they are pretty good people there. it is a matter of how you approach them. i know coz some of them are SOFTies too! :lol:

ahhh...

then that means they're mostly drummers or keyboardists or technically experienced...

not that they're mean, they're always kind but they always kena pressured to do more sales... sad :cry:

the thing i feel is, musicians usually have some attitude. hmm.. not to say it is good or bad thing but just that it is difficult to get someone who is musically good and yet at the same time good sales person.

selling is an art.

i love selling coz i am a lousy musician! ha..ha..ha...

I stopped going to Yamaha a few years back. Too difficult to attract attention to get service (although Swee Lee@Bras Basah are much much worse) and every time I'd drive into Plaza Singapura with the headache of parking and they'd have the worst selection of strings and other consumable neccesities. I'd end up going over to Davis or Swee Lee anyway just to get a set of 9-42 electric guitar strings.

'Not in stock' seems to be heard fairly regularly down that way. I doubt much has changed.More than likely to do with the credit rating they have with suppliers other than Yamaha then the ability to have things in stock.

They might not care about a pack of strings that costs $7.50 but at around 4 packs a month, on average, of both acoustic and electric over the 6 years I've been here that adds up (roughly) to $4320...holy crap, even I didnt realise that! Add the Plaza Sg carparking or transport costs on top of that and it's serious money.

So Yamaha if you are reading this, forget about spending all that time and effort to sell your 02R's or whatever and concentrate on your bread and butter. Strings, picks, straps, pedals etc etc. Get a decent selection in stock and get off your asses and serve people who are standing around waiting to buy them, or like a lot of your customers, need advice on what to buy. How many times do you sell something to someone who starts off with "my son needs bass strings but I have no idea what to buy....."

If the new guys down there dont know how to do this then surely it is Yamahas resonsibility to get them the training they need!!??

gkinsingapore said:
If the new guys down there dont know how to do this then surely it is Yamahas resonsibility to get them the training they need!!??
Couldn't agree more... It's the management i'm telling ya... Not the employees...

Mobius said:
They are pretty ok for service, but as mentioned above, some of them don really know much about their own products. One thing good though is that u are pretty free to roam around without any of them "hovering" behind u.
True, I like how you don't have them shadowing you....

gkinsingapore said:
I stopped going to Yamaha a few years back.

fyi, i know for a fact that all these small items are less than peanuts to their profits

their profits mainly come from the pianos, brass and wind instruments, and the school

the combo shop doesnt really bring in as much revenue

i learn there and like visit the shop everytime... i say the service is horrible... they all like just hang around, posing with the guitars and standing around making their own jokes... so its like intimidating and hard to talk to them

I went to yamaha one day and ask for XLR cables, the sales dude immdiately say they dont sell those, then i point at this row of XLR cables on the shelves and go "Then what is that?"

Utterly disappointing. I dont know whether this punks are musicians or salesman, either way they cannot make it...

i'm a guitar noob but a v v friendly n humble one
so far i been to yamaha ps, sweelee bras, citym, davies, luther
many many times for years to get stuffs

i find citym most friendly,
luther n davies r quite ok too, both old men i believe r the bosses
tok to me ... they look quite unapproachable but actually quite friendly after tok to them a while..

personally i find some sweelee staff really not interested in doing biz
i m not saying all staffs r bad, maybe some r ok, guess but perhaps my luck

let me share a personal account, once, yrs back, i saved up blood n sweat $500(i know its not alot), i went in the bras shop, i need to HUNT for a sales person despite me lingering ard the guitars like a ghost for many many mins and when 1 of the guys came, he jus cast a look at me and go back to watever he were doing - CHATTING w his colleagues... i tried to query on the guitars w another guy, havnt even got chance to complete my question, he jus throw a price n walk off - disappeared into the shop
i mean... its really ridiculous in the end i walked out of cos
yrs hav past, of cos i have went back to buy small stuffs time n again but nv a guitar but i must say , i heard its must better now

same thing w yamaha too, and yes similiar experience as above, i find they dont really initiate going out to the customer and expect customer to come to them to ask, they seem not v interested in doing biz

bigrabbit said:
i find they dont really initiate going out to the customer and expect customer to come to them to ask, they seem not v interested in doing biz
yeah... got a point... but can't really blame them...

maybe 90% of the time they used to ask, ppl just say "just looking around" so perhaps they got tired of asking?

buutt... they should ask anyway... cuz it can be quite hard sometimes to identify the real sales people in the shops apart from some pros trying out the gear...

i'm always scared i ask a wrong person... lol happened to me a few tiems... people wanderin in the shop just stop and ask me: "do u sell <XYZ>?"

lol... maybe fated la... i got that salesman look or sumthin :lol:

<EDIT>

btw, Luther Musicworks got old man meh? 8O

lol shhh dun let Luther hear that! :twisted:

i affirmative i asked the staffs in the shop!!!
luther... ok lah not v old
i correct myself.. not old men... UNCLE ok?
hahhahahaha
maybe i sueh lah my face look like a browse only not buying type
hahahhahahhhgagaggagagagga

I personally find service is good in Yamaha compared to Swee Lee.

At least, the salesman go all the way to satisfy me.

I bought one Guitar case from them and had trouble with the hinge. I went back to show them. But as I lost my receipt, I was not able to proof my purchase. I thought, " Die lah, sure kanna chase out!". But to my surprise, the friendly guy there helped me to change another one even without a receipt !!

So , I dont think they are unfriendly.

And as for product knowledge, I guess, just like anyone, NOT everyone knows every product. If you asked the wrong guy, certainly the guy wont know much about guitar will know drums better.
If u ask the cashier, the cashier certain knows more about how to collect money then telling you what guitar too choose !

I find that Yamaha service is much more better than before their renovation..... I think they may have changed their service staff, the older staff used to sit behind their tables and play with their computer. But now after the renovation, the tables were gone.... The newer staff now serve better !
I remember last year before the renovation, one older staff , I think about 45, can even just sit there and play guitar to entertain rather then approaching me to ask what I want !!

There is a great improvement in service now .

i sense politics...

and i will bluntly say it

INSECTICIDE HAS A PERSONAL GRUDDGE AGAINST BEEZ FOR SOME REASON...

hello yamaha representative!

welcome to soft!