Creation of jamming studio..

amps,mics,drums,a huge amount of insulation so the sound wont make the aunties come knocking down your door.

you can always make your own guitar,bass and drums.hehehe.i dont think he would have ask this serious qns without any money sitting in the bank account.wouldnt you ts?

yeah.. im planning to convert my room into a jamming studio for my band.. heh.. oh ok.. wat abt mixers?? juz normal amps would do right??

woah cool. too bad most singapore houses don't have garages. now have to resort to converting rooms to jamming studios D:

yeah i know.. but i figure i might not need some stuff.. like mixers.. do i need mixers?? can juz plug into amp and play, don need mixer wan hor??

You do need a mixer bro! You patch in your MANY mics into the mixer and into the amplifier and into the speakers. Unless you got the self powered speakers and you dun need many mics then you can just direct-in one mic to one speaker but i guess there are other options.

dUN forget if you need to line in other stuff like your cd players or line out external recording equipment or maybe you need some additional processors then a mixer would definitely be handy. Many ways around it bro.

Hope it helps

oh ok.. thanks a lot.. but wat abt juz maybe 2-3 mics?? i will hv 2guitar amps and 1 bass amp.. enough to direct in the mics right?? but if mixer really needed, wats the most cost effective one u know?? thankss.. :)

hey bro,

first of all converting your room into a jamming studio is a very expensive procedure. you'll be required to get clearance with hdb (if u're staying in a hdb apartment) because the sound proofing material used is flammable.

you'll probably need a mixer, your drumset, 2 guitar amps, a bass amp, keyboard amp (if needed), vocal amps, and monitors if you're hardcore enough.

soundproofing your room will run you back by almost 10k, because they'll be building a room within your room, complete with soundproofing and sound absorbant material.

i figure you'll need at least 2-3 power sockets there, and you should do your homework and check with the relevant authorites because im not sure if the amount of electricity your band will consume within the room itself will trip your circuit breaker.

oh yes, and you'll need an air con otherwise you'll all suffocate in there because the door will be shut and there can't be any open windows..

need get clearance meh?? nv heard of from my frens.. and sound proof materials are not tat ex.. checked with Music Theme liao.. but anyway thanks for ur info.. anyone knows which mixer is suitable and cheap??

Guitars + Guitar Amp + Cables + Picks
Bass + Bass Amp + Cables + Picks
Drum kit + Drum Sticks
Mic + PA System/Amp
Super Duper Sound Proof. (my friend stays in a HDB and he can't play his drum kit properly/loudly even with the padding he bought to reduce sound)

I think liddat can jam already what :X

the mics can plug into the guitar amps right?? however some bros suggested gettin a mixer.. so im wonderin is it really neccessary to get one and if yes which is the most cost effective.. cheers.. :)

it really depends on what you're focussing on. if you're running your mics through a guitar amp, you'll lose alot of the quality, which means the vocals will sound shitty. you'll need a guitar amp which can take more than one input too. get a mixer and speakers for your vocals. it is worthit. and proper soundproofing WILL cost that much..

need get clearance meh?? nv heard of from my frens.. and sound proof materials are not tat ex.. checked with Music Theme liao.. but anyway thanks for ur info.. anyone knows which mixer is suitable and cheap??

Sound absorbant or sound proof? There's a difference in both... and clearance part i'm not sure, but if it involves making modifications to your room then you'll definitely need clearance for renovation works. the material is cheap but the renovation is the expensive part :)

those sponge material thingy lor.. shld be sound proof la.. hmmm and im not plannin to do anything to my room.. juz fill it with sound proof material.. it'll be sufficient... anyone knows of a cheap/good mic amp??