Classical Piano for Beginner

slowmail

Am a total beginner, and am interested in learning how to play classical piano. A friend has advised the ABRSM Exams would be the way to go, and was wondering if anyone had a path they´d recommend I take (school? Piano teacher? etc).

Anyway, I´m here to ask for advice if there was an Electronic Piano that would be suitable for a first time student, and where possible, something that will serve me till Grade 8 (or higher) - or is that expecting too much from an Electronic Piano?

Don´t need anything thats overkill, and my *most* basic need is to learn classical piano.

Advice anyone?

I´m impressed by your determination and I take my hat off to you. Most of us start classical piano at a young age (I started at 5 years old). But with perseverence, you´ll make it!

My advise is to get a classical piano. No electric or digital piano can imitate the action, feel and sound of a classical piano. A classical piano is the best way to learn proper finger techniques. Furthermore, you will not get an electric piano during your exams. If you have the money, go for the German pianos. Otherwise, Kawai (which I have used all my life) is fine.

Private piano teacher or school is fine, depending on your preference. The Trinity Board examinations is another option to the ABRSM, but most people go for ABRSM. All the best!

hey, need help? feel free to ask..

Hey, if u need help in practice..feel free to ask me..i'm a classical pianist..^^..my no. is 91121468..juz ask 4 elvin..i'm sure to help man..

u could try looking for second hand pianos from various dealers in Singapore.my advise is dat if u dun have enough money to buy a first hand piano , u should at least get a second hand piano.normally a second hand piano should cost around 1.5k depending the quality of it.i bought my piano second hand for 1.5k last year and till now it's still in tip top condition and it's about 7 years old.