Use of effects...

EugeneSmasher

Hi all,

Started this thread because I'm wondering just how important effects like delay, chorus and reverb are. Personally, I am a rhythm guitarist so all I need are cleans and distortion. I guess I prefer to not be dependent on effects, and to be able to play direct into an amplifier like Angus Young.

But recently I've been advised to use effects to make my tone fuller, especially on clean passages and arpeggios. But I really dislike using effects because they might make me overly dependent on them, and they also amplify my mistakes especially when playing lead.

So what do you think? Possible to get a nice, full tone without effects?

Hi, I think it's hard to get a good tone without the use of effects.

I do not really like to use effects too. And I simply hate stacking effects. But it's almost impossible to get your sound to sound "nice" without the use of pedals. Personally, I used (few years back) to use a delay pedal with my clean sound at the very least.

For dirty sound-wise, these days I tend to rely more on the amp's drive channel than an external pedal, using the guitar's volume knobs for a boost during solos. I don't see the importance of other pedals but for sure, nothing beats having a lot of pedals on your board for show. 8)

Agreed. Gives more tonal variety too. I couldn't live without delay at one point (still applies actually, now that I've started using my multi-effects pedal). But I barely use other effects.

I'm wondering just how important effects like delay, chorus and reverb are. Personally, I am a rhythm guitarist so all I need are cleans and distortion.

If that's all you need, then you've pretty much answered your own question. Don't just use effects for the sake of using effects.

I guess I prefer to not be dependent on effects, and to be able to play direct into an amplifier like Angus Young.