urgent help needed

floppy

okay, so i'm a beginner bassist and my bass teacher gave this fingering for a major scale of something, it goes like: 24124134. With 1 meaning first finger, 2 mean second finger etc. He also explanined the notes and frets and stuff but didn;t so it properly so I have no idea what I'm supposed to play. Sorry if this sounds stupid I'm not too sure what it is myself lol. Any help is greatly appreciated! ;D

Major scale

ok he's talking about a major scale.... so. i'll do the A major scale here and hopefully you'll know what I/he mean. assume u can read tablature? *edit* ok so E----5----7-- means u play the fifth fret, and then the 7th fret on the E string. (the lowest). repeat for the other strings. E is the string closest to you, G the one furthest from you.

G
D-------------4-6-7---
A------4-5-7--------
E-5-7-------------

sorry for the lousy tab work.
so if you play this a few times, you will notice that the left hand fingers used are 24124134. hence his string of number.

this is the "pattern" for major scale, so if you move it to E string 7th fret (B), you will have a B major scale.

Last edited:
It's a F# Major Scale.

G---------------------
D-------------1-3-4---
A------1-2-4----------
E-2-4-----------------

The notes in the scale are F#, G#, A#, B, C#, D#, F, F#.

# - Sharp

yes, if you move the pattern to E string 2nd fret (F#), then u get a F# major scale. but notice that the left hand fingering is still 24124134

Ask your teacher to explain clearly loh.

You can also play Major Scale using the below pattern.

I use A Major Scale for e.g. as we are already using A. :)

G-------------------------
D---------------6-7-------
A---------5-7-9-----------
E---5-7-9-----------------

A B C# D E F# G# A

Shift everything up 2 frets and you will get a B major Scale.

Impt is how you can apply this to ur music lo.. Ask ur teacher la. :d

Cheers

eh, i'm not sure which one it is from the ones you've all mentioned...