Upgrading an Ibanez GIO

ShredaholicZ

Hey guys, I am playing an Ibanez GIO. I bought it 2 years ago when I was inexperienced in selecting guitar models and pay a whooping $300 for it. So far, the sound is still ok but I want to upgrade it for it to go further.

Do you recommend spending money on changing pickups for my guitar? If so, what kind of pickup would you recommend for a metal and rock lover?

Can I buy a whammy bar and poke it through the hole of my guitar without any soldering or troublesome stuffs? Or do I have to get it installed the troublesome way?

And lastly, are there different whammy bars for different guitar? If so, how much is a whammy bar for an Ibanez GIO?

Guitar newbie here. Thank you :)

if your guitar has a floating bridge - and i think it does since you mentioned the "hole of your guitar" - then it should've come with a whammy bar. if you don't have one, you can get a replacement, but not every bar will fit. best to check with any shop that sells ibanez guitars.

btw whammy bars are all meant to be detachable. no soldering involved. either screw/push the bar in to use, and do the reverse to remove.

So different amp gives me different sound huh? That's something new I learn today. Thank you :D

How do I know whether it's a floating bridge or what? There's a hole beside the place where i insert the strings.

How do I check the GIO model? Isn't GIO a budget series? Where can I check it?

is this your guitar by any chance?

IbanezGSA60.jpg

To be honest, one thing I like about Ibanez GIOs over loads of other budget guitars, is the pickups. I've never seen the need to change the pickups on my GSA60, in fact I like them more than the pickups on my Yamaha which costs twice as much.

If I were to upgrade my GIO, I think first and foremost I would improve the tuning stability. It's good the way it is, but I find the tuning machines a bit inconsistent, so upgrades wise I would change those first. Maybe upgrade to some Grovers.