stop playing the bass...

aquanaut

am thinking of giving up bass playing and considering taking up electric tambourine...

anyone thoughts from anyone?

Depends which instrument you are more passionate about. If you're no longer passionate about the bass, go for the switch.

But it's sad though. There are already so few bassists to begin with. :(

Actually, as a guitarist who can also play the bass, I'd recommend guitarists to also get some skills with the bass as well since essentially the bass is a guitar too and follows guitar tunings, just an octave lower. I started playing bass rather late though, but I agree that it's never too late to learn. And it is a lot easier to learn bass if you are a guitarist already.

Yup, the new generation should notice the under-rated but ever-so-important bass. In my opinion, rock music can do without bassists because I notice in some rock bands you can't even hear the bass at all, but in jazz, fusion, blues, rhythm and blues, etc, without the bass, nothing can happen. The young have gotta realize that...

In my opinion, rock music can do without bassists because I notice in some rock bands you can't even hear the bass at all, but in jazz, fusion, blues, rhythm and blues, etc, without the bass, nothing can happen. The young have gotta realize that...

ya... why is the mixing like so, where we cant here the bass at all sometimes? Like those metal bands.. i cant figure out the bass lines at all man!! Or is it too in sync with the music?

Thing about rock and metal is that there is a rhythm guitarist handling rhythm. I find that a bass is easily buried under a heavily distorted guitar.

Last edited: