Low-budget distortion pedal

triface

I know there's a similar recent thread, but it would seem kind of rude to hijack the thread, so I'm making a new thread. :p

I've been playing for 2 years and am still using the beginner rig that I started out with, which consists of a Sound Drive SG-15 amplifier and a Timbre SR100 strat copy.

I'm quite satisfied with my current tone and my guitar's playability, so I'm now looking to expand the range of tones that I can play with with a distortion pedal. (Because let's face it. There's only that much gain you can get out of a less expensive amp at 10. Obviously getting it go to 11 would be pretty awesome, but let's move on.)

I've been lurking on Standard Value's 2 websites for quite some time and it seems to me Modtone Extreme Metal is a pretty decent pedal. However, having no frame of reference, and with the people in the video 'reviewing' the pedal being from Modtone, I feel the need to get your opinions.

So, is it a good pedal? Would I be better going with another pedal? Or should I just save up for a more expensive pedal (Which hopefully will cause the quality of the build and tone to scale proportionately.)? Last but not least, are the distortion pedals that cost less than a hundred any good?

I listen to Metallica, Dream Theater, Alter Bridge and In Flames, just to name a few. In lieu of my last preference, I would also like the pedal to be able to play some high-gain death metal, while still being something that I can play just, say, Metallica with, where the material I'll be working with wouldn't require too much of gain.

Hi do consider multieffect pedals as they are one of the most versatile and powerful units that probably provide the best bang for the buck.

Do check out Zoom g2 series(less than 200 bucks) , g7 series(more than 200 bucks) they have good high gain sounds and rather stellar effects to play with as well as lag free patch switching.

For single effect pedals under 100 maybe u can look at pedals from