Help in furthering my Guitaring skills!

Enduran

Greetings Rocking good folks!

I've been playing the guitar for 4 years now (and counting)

Though the year, I've learnt so much about guitars and gears! I am able to cover songs from Linkin park to Alter bridge to certain bits of Bullet for my Valentine and even Metallica. However, I can never cover any of the shred solos.

I'm an avid Alter bridge fan and would like to cover them!

Over the year, I have only been able to cover song and learn song through Tabs and Chord sheets. As in plainly just following the Tabs and alter some notes accordingly using my ear. Again, unable to play solos, only covering the rhythm part plus little easy lick here and there.

I have always wanted to learn to Shred and be able to play Improvised solos just anytime and anywhere. I have done extensive research on what are the scales, appagios, eg. pentatonic scales and all the "chim" sounding modes of scales for guitar. I even bought a few books about lead guitar and soloing improvisation.

But, even with all these, Im just so confused on what should i learn from and what should i start from. There are sooooo many things to learn from.

Therefore i would like to consult fellow Softies about how i should go about learning how to Shred and Improvise Solos like at the snap of my fingers.
I know this would take many years of practicing and mastering the technique.
I just want to know where to start and how to go about studying this Art.

I dream about being like Mark Tremonti and other Great Guitarist like Steve Vai, Joe Satriani or even Paul Gilbert playing just Lead guitar and making Big. But All i want is to be able to shred like them.

Thank you for your advice!
Sorry about this Extremely long post!

You've reached what Kirk Hammett would call a "plateau". Try exploring other genres, other instruments to widen your horizons.

World music would be a good start

Plateau?

I play the Violin too.