Help: Going nowhere with practice

Anirudh

hey guys, been quite some time since i posted.

well i need lots of guidance for this.

I've been playing the guitar for about3.5 years now and i categorize myself as an average player since i was mostly self taught.

now i want to take the next step. and improve myself.

on my to do list are:

1) build up my pathetic speed (AKA Shred)

2) strengthen my sloppy 16thnotes and alternate picking.

so if anyone could be kind enough to give me specific exercises to practice on improving my speed/ picking technique.

you can send me GP files too (im using GP 5).

right now im just learning songs and that is bringing me nowhere imo.

you know when i watched download festival 2007 on TV last night and i saw all the lead guitarists playing those solos i went "i wanna play like that". SO please guys, help me get there.

i have almost nil theory knowledge too and i know almost nuts about scales. any info on that would be very very helpful too.

cheers and thanx in advance

What goals do you set yourself for the long and short term?
How often do you practice?
What do you practice?
Where do you practice? Are you focused or watching the TV at the same time?

Its is good to practise runing notes with a metronome. Maybe you can buy a good one from a shop.

As for lines to shred, there are many examples in various songs. Search for metal bands and their songs on ultimate guitar. There should be examples during the solos. Start out slow at 25% then move on to faster bpm when you think you can handle it faster without going sloppy.

Search youtube for some instructional vids by john petrucci etc on some instructions and warm up excersies with metronomes

Take Lessons....

Find a good teacher.. it's always better when you have someone listening to you and guiding you.. You'll improve must faster.. and when you become better than the teacher.. get a new one...hahaha