finger pain on acoustic guitar

skizzer

hey guys, i just started learning guitar and im currently using an acoustic guitar, im still at the basic chords practising stage but the finger pain has become unbearable till the stage tat i cant even practise chords for long.. is this normal? or should i rest? coz i heard people say u need to rest for the dead skin layer to grow on ur fingers bef the pain will lessen?

thx for any kinda assistance! =)

well, if it hurts THAT much, i suggest you take a rest, and let your fingers rest for awhile, but dont peel the skin of your fingers :)

well, if you're learning to strum, I'll recommend that you practise your chord changing for a fixed amount of time, then rest. While resting, practice can actually still continue. You can mute the strings and work on your strumming patterns with your right hand.

I started off in May this year. I didn't learn to strum. I learned to play fingerstyle as a start. So what I did was to practise the song for half an hour and rest my left hand, while I continue to practise arpeggios on my right, or just alternate between two bass strings with my thumb non stop, or work on tremolo (which i hardly ever did).

When calluses grow and skin thickens on your left hand over time (give it a few weeks), you'll be able to play for hours w/o feeling much pain. Happy playing. =)

well, if it hurts THAT much, i suggest you take a rest, and let your fingers rest for awhile, but dont peel the skin of your fingers :)

yeah, i heard abt peeling ur skin off will let the dead skin thing grow faster? so its nt true? anyway thx everyone =) i will persevere =) haha

finger pain?

Hi Skizzer,