Epic Emotional Music - The Courage From Within (G.T. Music)

Good job! You have mastered the genre! The dynamics, the build-up, the instrumentation ...

Last edited:
Hi,

I am an epic music writer as well.

It appears you didn't seem to have completely orchestrated the track well. I will put my comments below for you.

The piano motif is simplistic and fits well with the theme (Simplicity is desired for epic music). However, audio wise, the sound is way too thin and lacks the hammer on sound that you should bring out. A piano in epic music should sound bell-like (Listen to La Campanella Transcendental Etudes by Franz Liszt).
0:28 Hits are way too muddy, and does not sound as deep enough for the hits. Perhaps instead of using that particular drum, try using a high tom layered with low tom instead. It provides more cut and warmer punch for a stronger buildup.
0:57 Cellos are way too unmastered here. Remember that cello is considered as "the soul of the orchestra", you do NOT want to skimp on string sections, and in particular, the bass and cello parts. The following string spiccato section requires compression to reduce spikiness and boominess.
1:20 You are clearly following a binary structure here, but here is the catch, binary structure requires the 2nd recapitulation to have an added sound (Listen to Gabriel Shadid - Something To Believe In, notice he adds a soloist choir on top of repeating the same material).
2:06 You must absolutely absolutely absolutely absolutely absolutely absolutely not do this to a structure of an epic music. You have established a structure of introduction -> first build - drop. However, you repeated that format over again with the same level of contrast, and so it sounds stale overall because there is a lack of contrast between the 1st and 2nd part of the music.