Composer, Arranger, Lyricist or Instrumentalist? Which is more important?

greybackshadow

Came across this question sometime ago and thought I would post it here to seek for more opinions.:p

I'm a composer and arranger myself. To me, the composer is most important, then followed by either lyricist/arranger. I think the one that does the most tedious job is the arranger then followed by the lyricist.

I know some of you would say that all of them are equally important, but without the composer, there would be no melody. An arranger could also take on the role of an instrumentalist, but the arranger could also notate out the scores and hire instrumentalist to play.

Everything is important, but in my opinion, its Composer, Lyricist, Arranger, then Instrumentalist.

Which of these do you think is more important?:D

composer is important but I have seen some composer can't even play his instrument well
can only strum chords ... ??? *sigh* be a musician then composer

dun decompose

I think it all depends.

Here is for me the classic example of the great composer meets lousy arranger: Leonard Cohen's original version of Hallelujah.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3Fkuq5Lf0Q

Sounds bloody awful right? No wonder everybody wanted to cover that song, because they could do it better than Leonard Cohen himself. In fact I suspect the reason why Leonard Cohen's songs are so well covered is because almost anybody can sing a Leonard Cohen song better than Leonard Cohen himself. But the thing is - it doesn't matter that the arrangement sounds like a cheap karaoke version, and the instrumentalists sound like shit. A great song is still a great song. If you've created a mess the first time there will always be a Rufus Wainwright, a John Cale or a Jeff Buckley to fix it for you.