beginner needs some advise/tips on practice at home

gutisg

hi all,
i would like to know what do drummers in general use to practise on at home for those that don't have one.
i'm a beginner and would love to practise at home but can't afford one atm..
eg. practice pads etc.

peace

my drummer used to be stupid dat he practice at hm and beating the pail and table, cabinet, all the stupid stuff tat can be found. dun follow his way, he is wrong! buy the electronic pad or sumting? check out at penisular, selling at low prices.

hey man,
do u have a padded arm chair at home?
the arm rest need to be padded. use that as practice pads. i did that for two yrs playing to songs.
u can use ur mouse pad to do ur strokes and rudiments and all that. first learn how to groove though. make sure u get the feel of the music u want to play, thats most important.

Phone books, stools, tables anything. Just hit on anything man lol. I used to practise on wooden stools actually.

But of course like blurred said, padded stuff are better. Less noise and your mother won't start yelling "Oei! Diam lah!" everytime you practise lol. Or get a practise pad? It's only $30 or so.

Rudiments on a practice pad... bass drum pad also can...

Some people think that rudiments are useless in "real" drumming but in REAL drumming, rudiments are so important. It's like the ABCs of drumming... soon when you play, you won't even have to think the stickings of rudiments... you just use them to aid your playing (and prevent backaches)... 8)

Funkifized said:
Some people think that rudiments are useless in "real" drumming but in REAL drumming, rudiments are so important. It's like the ABCs of drumming... soon when you play, you won't even have to think the stickings of rudiments... you just use them to aid your playing (and prevent backaches)... 8)

Brilliantly said.

Anyway, to the threadstarter, are you saying you can't afford to buy a practice pad? I find that hard to believe.