Bass Improvisation

frumnat

I am new to bass and am learning it now. Other than practising scales, can any kind friends care to share with me on how to improvise bass?

Say when I play AMAZING GRACE in G key, how can I improvise this song, other than playing the root bass notes?

Many thanks!!

Hi,

improvisation takes quite a fair bit of musical aptitute and sense to be able to pull it off well. there's nothing wrong trying to try it now but i suggest if you are new to bass, to get your fundementals right before you try anything else.

e.g. hand technique, finger strength and speed ..

thank you exin.

i have actually been playing acoustic guitar for few years, but more of rhythm. Haven't really been improving. i'm really interested in bass, but have been procrastinating for long time. finally pick it up this year.

therefore i thought i can pick up some tips here in this forum from some friends to be able to practise on my own. :)

been playing bass for a few mnths..all i can tell u is tt..learn the techniques n theory..n then..listen to a lot of songs of the style tt u think u're gonna be playing..then wen u play,play with feel..tt's 1 wae i do it..

thank you all.

if i get you right, there's no way to improvise "quickly" except to flow with the rhythm. and that needs lots of practising and playing and experimenting....

right? 8)

okay let's say I pick up after this ends off-

I am very sure of my technique (except for slapping and tapping, which i'll look into next time).

When choosing passing notes and flourishes I always fall back on the major scale or the pentatonic/pentatonic blues, or at least that's what I think it is.

Where do I go from here to improve myself as a bass player? Theory? Groove? Timing?

try to build your foundation of scale,technique and theory at 1 go...
each at certain level you know,so that 3 of em will be balanced,and hearing also important for all musicians,you might want to practice that...